Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Angelzoom: Angelzoom

Angelzoom is a project formed by German musician/vocalist Claudia Uhle. She provides vocals, piano and orgel and is joined by Bernd Wendlandt (piano, keyboards, backing vocals, programming) and a few other guest musicians. The album was originally released in 2004 on Nuclear Blast and has just been given the full treatment by Metal Mind Productions who always seem to do a good job with these re-releases. It seems strange to me that Angelzoom was on Nuclear Blast's roster because they are not the type of band typically found there. The music of Angelzoom is very mellow and lush sounding with elements of classical, electro-pop, ambient and goth, although Angelzoom's sound is closer to Enya than bands like Nightwish.

Claudia has a very good voice which borders on the operatic. Her soft tones match up well with the symphonic arrangements. Guest musicians, including The Risc Symphonic Orchestra, providing cello, violin, horns and percussion.

The album begins with the nicely orchestrated "Turn the Sky" featuring the unmistakable cello of Apocalyptica. It is all very lush and keyboard heavy with a pretty melody and Claudia's angelic vocals. Another solid effort is a reworking of the Depeche Mode classic "Blasphemous Rumors" where cello and violin add drama and gives the song a rich timbre that suits it just fine. The short but sweet "Falling Leaves", which sounds nothing like the Billy Talent song of the same name, is as gentle as leaves falling to the ground with tranquil piano, keys and strings. The rest of the album is pretty similar which leads to my one complaint. Perhaps the album is too one dimensional with not enough variety to keep ones interest peeked and at times the electro-pop element became a tad overbearing the "Fairyland" remixes and "Sapphire Sky" comes to mind.

That said, there are many who will enjoy the slick pop production and lush symphonic arrangements and there is no doubt the band sticks to what they do well. Listen to the samples and decide for yourself.

Track Listing:
1. Turn the Sky
2. Back In the Moment
3. Blasphemous Rumors
4. Otium
5. Falling Leaves
6. Guardian Angel
7. Crawling
8. Bouncing Shadows
9. Fairyland
10. Dream in a Church
11. Lights
12. Newborn Sun
13. Into My Arms
14. Christmas Dreams
Bonus Tracks:
15. Peace Of Mind (from the motion picture Alone in the Dark)
16. Fairyland (videoclip)
17. Fairyland (radio version)
18. The World Between (non album track)
19. Sapphire Sky (non album track)
20. Fairyland (blueangel club remix)
21. Fairyland (sacrifight army remix)

Added: December 1st 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's MySpace Page
Hits: 1703
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by