Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hollow: Architect of the Mind/Modern Cathedral (remastered)

Anyone remember the Swedish power/progressive metal band Hollow from the late 90's? The band released these two gems on Nuclear Blast back in 1998 & 1999, then quickly vanished from the scene. Thankfully Metal Mind Productions has reissued and remastered these two solid offerings and housed them in a 2 CD digipack for all genre fans who perhaps missed these the first time around.

First thing you notice is that lead vocalist/guitarist Andreas Stoltz sounds a lot like Geoff Tate or Midnight, but to be fair that's where the Queensryche and Crimson Glory comparisons end. Hollow had a sound that was pretty unique, littered with super crunchy riffing from Stoltz and Marcus Bigren, flashy, often times complex lead solos, tight rhythms, and melodic, memorable songs. There are plenty of sizzling tunes sprinkled throughout these two releases, such as the progressive "Rain", the super charged metal of "Cogito", the Rush & Dream Theater influenced "Secluded Dreams", or the highly addicting metal anthems "Can You Hear Me?", "Lies", and "Wounds". Hard to pick a favorite between the two albums, as both are very strong and very similar as far as containing quality material. Modern Catherdral is probably the more 'power metal' of the two and slightly more accessible, while Architect of the Mind might be the more proggy. Both go hand in hand though and are well worth owning for fans of the melodic metal genre.

As always, Metal Mind has done a great job on the remaster treatment and packaging here. If you like catchy power/progressive metal with CRUNCHY guitar, you've come to the right place.

Track Listing
CD 1 "Architect of the Mind"
1. Transcending Sorrow
2. Cogito
3. Rain
4. Shadow God
5. Secluded Dreams
6. Walls of Confusion
7. Binary Creed
8. Deified
9. Alone In Darkness
10. Shutdown
11. Father

CD 2 "Modern Cathedral"
1. Trademark
2. Can You Hear Me?
3. Speak To Me
4. Bagatell
5. Crusaders
6. Lies
7. Wounds
8. In Your Arms
9. Whispers
10. Hold Your Banners High
11. What I Can Be
12. Waiting

Added: November 28th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 3322
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by