Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Viking Skull: Heavy Metal Thunder

Formed out of the ashes of Raging Speedhorn back in 2002, British metal outfit Viking Skull have spent the better part of the decade bashing craniums and splitting eardrums with their straight ahead, no frills, pile driving anthems glorifying sex, drugs and rock & roll. While for some reason the band has gone largely unnoticed in North America, indie label Restricted Records is trying to change that with the recent release of Heavy Metal Thunder which is a remastered, repackaging of their Chapter One EP (2003) and the debut album Born In Hell (2005).

Containing no less than twenty tracks, Heavy Metal Thunder is a no holds barred, seventy three minute slab of mind numbingly simplistic, Cro-Magnon style metal that revolves around amped up and recycled Sabbath riffs and the gravelly, Liquid Plumr vocals of guitarist and lead belter Roddy Stone. It's not as if Viking Skull are out to reinvent the wheel here, both musically and lyrically, but that doesn't take away from the fact that disc is a hell of a lot of fun. Armed with an unrelenting arsenal of massive sounding riffs, and catchy melodies you'll be breaking out that trusty Viking drinking horn in no time and signing along to the ridiculously and politically incorrect double entendres of "Seedealer", "Saddle Up", "Dirty Dirty Hole and "Inject My Woman (With Love)", not to mention my personal favorite "Rape, Pillage And Burn". Sure these certified head banging anthems will make a band like Manowar come off as absolutely Shakespearian by comparison, but when it comes right down to it who cares, because Heavy Metal Thunder is the perfect soundtrack for anyone looking to kill off a few brain cells on a Friday night. Now isn't that what true, good old fashioned Viking Metal is all about??

Track Listing
1) Beers, Drugs And Bitches
2) Wizard's Sleeve
3) Frostbite
4) Rape, Pillage And Burn
5) Crazy Trucker
6) Skull Heaven
7) Born In Hell
8) Crank The Volume
9) Red Hot Women
10) Seedealer
11) Heavy Metal Thunder
12) Saddle Up
13) Double Or Quits
14) Rock And Roll Suicide
15) Conquer The World
16) Baby Let Me Know
17) Skulls & Whiskey
18) Dirty Dirty Hole
19) Inject My Woman (With Love)
20) You Can't Kill Rock & Roll

Added: November 14th 2010
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Viking Skull MySpace
Hits: 1381
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by