Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Constantine: Shredcore

Konstantinos Kotzamanis aka Constantine was born in Greece in 1987 and started playing at the age of 12. He began by playing his favourite songs by Maiden, Slayer, Metallica and others and as his playing evolved took on other influences like Joe Satriani and Zakk Wylde. He is a member of the bands Mystic Prophecy, Descending and Nightrage and Shredcore is his debut solo album. There is no doubt Constantine keeps himself busy and in a short time has made a name for himself in the world of rock guitar. As you can probably imagine from the title of his new album, the music found within is exactly as stated, a no holds barred shredfest that leaves nothing on the table. Shredcore is about as subtle as a jackhammer with head pounding riffs and jackhammer drumming where nuance is thrown out the window and trampled upon with gusto. That said, it is not all heavy as Constantine has a few tricks up his sleeve and you can be rest assured there are plenty of melodies to be found all over this disc. Joining Constantine are Greek keyboardist Bob Katsionis (Firewind) and drummer Frank Huber (ex-Valley's Eve).

The album starts in bombastic fashion with symphonic keyboards but soon the shredfest begins in earnest with rapid fire drum beats and neo classical shredding. The keyboards of Katsionis are often as fast as Constantine's guitar work. All of the songs are a vehicle for Constantine's heavy riffs and precision solos but a few of the songs offer a little more variety. "A Fine Day To Die" features a moodier edge with some melodic guitar solos and a decidedly far Eastern sound and the melodic "A Rose For Rejection" includes some atmospheric guitar solos showing Constantine can also play with emotion. Similarly, "A Tear in The Ocean" has a nice mix of acoustic and electric guitar and although there is some shredding guitar the sound is a bit more refined.

Anyone who digs instrumental guitar rock will probably want to seek this out. It is a good album for what it is and Constantine shows he can play as fast as anyone. Released in 2010 on 7Hard Records.

Track Listing:
1. 2 Fast 2 Furious
2. Distracted
3. Rational Chaos
4. Jihad
5. A Fine Day To Die
6. The Blame Game
7. A Rose For Rejection
8. A Tear In The Open
9. Playing With Fire

Added: November 11th 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's MySpace Page
Hits: 1882
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by