Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Re-Stoned: Revealed Gravitation

While the name of the instrumental Russian trio The Re-Stoned may or may not be some sort of allusion to the stoner rock genre, the fact of the matter is that the music offered up on their debut effort Revealed Gravitation contains significantly more depth than what you'd find on your typical stoner rock disc.

Comprised of Ilya Lipkin (guitars, effects, voice) and Vladimir Nikulin (bass) (who together also make up two thirds of the band Rushus), along with drummer Andrey Pankratov this hard rock/ psych power trio specialize in epic jams laden with absolutely monstrous sounding riffs, catchy melodies and layer upon layer of acid soaked atmospherics. The disc is expertly mixed and mastered under the watchful eye of Alisa Coral (Psi Corps) who once again succeeds at capturing a deliciously warm and rich analogue sound that helps further enhance the overall listening experience.

The trio at times prefers to let things unfold at their own languid pace, but you better prepare to back the fuck up when they get straight in your face with some serious full frontal boogie like they do towards the end of " Fra Fuf". On this track Lipkin peels off an absolutely face melting distorted solo, and "Green Triangles", which in addition to highlighting more of Lipkin's Sabbath influenced riffage, also sees Nikulin getting into the act with a brief, fuzzy bass solo in the breakdown section. The band's sound is effectively fleshed out further by another Rushus member, Evgeniy Tkachev who adds additional percussive elements on "Eternal Search", "Oriental Doom" and "Sleeping World", while Pavel Panfilov contributes some spooky sounding Hammond organ to "Moriarty's Blues". The closing trifecta of "Eternal Search", Electric Storm" (quite possibly Revealed Gravitation's heaviest sounding track) and "Sleeping World" (a gorgeously layered composition) is nothing short of brilliant. This is definitely one wild, sixty minute trip that you'll be glad to take over and over again.

If challenging and flawlessly executed, instrumental hard rock, that places full emphasis on both killer riffs and grooves, are up your alley then The Re-Stoned are definitely going to be a band that you'll want to investigate further because Revealed Gravitation will deliver all of that and then some.

Track Listing
1) Gravitation
2) The Mountain Giant
3) Space
4) Bells
5) Fra Fuf
6) Green Triangles
7) Orient Of Doom
8) Moriarty's Blues
9) Eternal Search
10) Electric Storm
11) Sleeping World

Added: November 10th 2010
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: RAIG
Hits: 4118
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by