Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra: Lookin' For A Little Strange

Adding a funky and fun coating over progressive blue grass jazz rock (quite eclectic, huh?), The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra's debut LP, Lookin' For A Little Strange, is a very cool, calming and complex release by a promising and professional quartet.

The band hails from Minnesota and consists of established musicians Dan Neale (Guitar), Lisi Wright (Fiddle), John Wright (of Lehto & Wright Bass), and Mark O'Day (Drums). They define their music as "Chick Corea meets The Dixie Dregs meets A Prairie Home Companion," and their influences also include King Crimson, Tool, and Mahavishnu Orchestra. Lookin' For A Little Strange is very appealing, with each new listen revealing something new to grab your attention.

"The Biscuit Breakdown" begins the album in a fast paced and groovy way. The bass dances around as the fiddle and guitar exchange solos over simple chord changes. There are a few rhythmic changes and it's more like an especially technical hoedown than anything else. This is the formula and vibe that the album sticks to throughout, but it's never repetitive, as each track offers significant variations, and a few differ from the sound substantially.

A more somber and quiet mood comes with "Soft Pour," which carries an air of remorse in its strings and guitar, and "Raga Piloo" introduces an Eastern flair and a proggy structure due to a more disjointed, puzzle piece construction. One of the heavier tracks, "Dark Matter" is what Rush would sound like if they included country instruments.

"Driving South Wes" definitely carries the same sense of intricate counterpoints Return To Forever did so well, and Chick Corea would fit in perfectly with his unique piano style. The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra close the album with two more relatively heavy tracks, "Missing Parts" and "Odd Men Out," that effortlessly invoke the essence of John McLaughlin in the guitar tones and song structures.

Lookin' For A Little Strange incorporates so many styles so fluidly that it's hard to imagine a music fan who won't be impressed and intrigued by it. The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra has introduced itself wonderfully, and a sophomore effort is already heavily anticipated.

Track Listing

  1. Biscuit Breakdown, The
  2. Minor Scrape
  3. Slow Pour
  4. Raga Piloo
  5. Iron Range Knee High
  6. Dark Matter
  7. Gypsy Grass Jump
  8. Driving South Wes
  9. Missing Parts
  10. Odd Men Out
  11. [Untitled]

Added: November 6th 2010
Reviewer: Jordan Blum
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2161
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by