Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Skin Chamber: Wound/Trial (remastered)

After leaving their record label in 1991, the members of the experimental Industrial act, Controlled Bleeding, set out to continue their artistry with a new even more disturbing outfit called, Skin Chamber. After 2 records, Wound and Trial, Skin Chamber would disband in 1993, but these 2 violent sounding records, once described as "the soundtrack to a cybernetic nightmare", once again live on in a newly released double CD Digipak from Metal Mind Productions and Roadrunner Records. And as always from the fine folks at Metal Mind, this package is offered in a Limited Edition in only 2000 numbered pieces available.

Following down the pre-paved road that Godflesh had already marched down, Skin Chamber's first release, the 13 song record, Wound, would be a brutally powerful record filled with utterly pounding sonic landscapes, forged with both synthetic and organic sounds all shaped with an evil metallic sheen. Heavy and intense, Wound would unleash tracks like "Skin Me" and the eerie "In The Sewer of Dreams" upon the Industrial world, while beginning to carve out there own new map on the scene.

In 1993, the duo of Paul Lemos and Chris Moriarty now known as Skin Chamber would continue to move forward from Controlled Bleeding with their second album entitled, Trial. A bit more focused and all the while even more diverse than their first effort, Skin Chamber would serve up a disc filled with Heavy Industrial brutality and disturbing electronica. Opening track, "On A Drunk", with its heavy, plodding riff is as Metal as it gets and serves well to show what else is in store on this sophomore release. A bit more streamlined in their approach on Trial, allows the songs and overall feel of the record shine through. And with their experimentation level high, Trial would feature a 25 minute record closing opus entitled, "Swallowing Scrap Metal (PT.2)", which would consist of uncontrolled noise and destruction that would come to be described as an "electronic Armageddon"!

Overlooked and or missed the first time around, the 2 CD Digipak of Wound and Trial are pretty much essential for every Heavy Industrial music fan and being packaged together makes this a no brainer. These 2 records prove that Metal and electronics CAN work well with each other. Both albums make quite a musical statement and are both very eerie, disturbing and damn good. Limited to only 2000 copies, so get going and grab yours. I've got mine!

WOUND-Track Listing

  1. Carved In Skin (Apt. 213)
  2. Slice Of God
  3. Sucked Inside
  4. Skin Me
  5. Mind Grinder
  6. In The Sewer Of Dreams
  7. Burning Power
  8. The Nails Of Faith
  9. Fat Hacker
  10. Horde
  11. Swollen Underground
  12. Swallowing Scrap Metal (Pt. 2)
  13. Healing Time

TRIAL-Track Listing

  1. On A Drunk
  2. Throb
  3. Bleached Bones
  4. Torturous World
  5. Sloven
  6. Glisten
  7. Slow Crime
  8. Trial
  9. Swallowing Scrap Metal (Part 5)

Added: November 5th 2010
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 6316
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by