Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pink Cream 69: Live in Karlsruhe

Despite the band's name, Pink Cream 69 has been one of my favorite melodic hard rock groups for years — I just don't wear a T-shirt with their logo emblazoned across it. But when I saw PC69 perform at ProgPower USA VI in 2005, I was underwhelmed. That could have been because it was questionable whether a band with explosive hooks and arena-ready riffs that sounded like a heavier Bon Jovi belonged on the same bill as Therion, Angra, Symphorce, Orphaned Land, Manticora or any of the other bands performing that weekend.

But I let it go and remain a fan, especially because PC69 seems to be getting better with age. Live in Karlsruhe – a two-CD set celebrating 20 years and recorded in January 2009 in the German band's hometown – plays like the best-of album PC69 has yet to release. Solid rockers like "The Hour of Freedom," "The Spirit," "Talk to the Moon" and "Carnaby Road" prove why these major-label refugees are still around after 20 years. Original vocalist Andi Deris may have been replaced by Englishman David Readman a quarter of the way through that run, but Readman sings circles around his predecessor, and the current incarnation of PC69 absolutely owns the older material, especially "Welcome the Night," "Do You Like It Like That" and the reworked ballad "One Step Into Paradise." (Unfortunately, Readman is not much of a showman, as evidenced by his clichéd banter with the crowd.)

PC69 bassist and in-demand producer Dennis Ward has mixed everything – even two bonus acoustic cuts recorded in July 2007 – to sound superb without detracting from the live experience. This is an ideal introduction to Pink Cream 69, with the companion DVD (sold separately) even more entertaining. And if you're already a fan, you'll need this in your collection.

Track Listings
CD 1:
1) Children of the Dawn
2) Do You Like It Like That
3) Hell's Gone Crazy
4) Lost in Illusions
5) The Hour of Freedom
6) I'm Not Afraid
7) Talk to the Moon
8) Carnaby Road
9) Break the Silence
10) One Step Into Paradise
11) That Was Yesterday
12) The Spirit

CD 2:
1) Livin' My Life For You
2) Welcome the Night
3) Seas of Madness
4) Keep You Eye on the Twisted
5) No Way Out
6) Shame
7) So Lonely/No Woman No Cry
8) One Step Into Paradise (Acoustic)
9) Better Days (Acoustic) (European Bonus Track)

Added: November 3rd 2010
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Pink Cream 69 Website
Hits: 2755
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by