Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dio: At Donington UK - Live 1983 & 1987

Posthumous releases don't come much better than this; a two disc set with high quality packaging that captures two live sets from Dio at the Monsters of Rock Festival, Donington in 1983 and 87. Back in 83 the band were new, fresh and exciting and in a year of incredibly strong Metal albums Holy Diver stood proudest of them all. The explosive line-up of Dio- Appice- Bain- Campbell were on fire as this performance more than demonstrates. Free of Sabbath, Dio was free to revisit his Rainbow material and you can feel the excitement in the crowd as they launch into "Stargazer" and "Man On The Silver Mountain". Not that the Dio material itself took a back seat; "Stand Up And Shout" is as good an opening song as any and "Rainbow In The Dark" and "Holy Diver" were already sounding like classics. Great show, great memories.

By 1987 Dio were much higher up the bill playing second only to Bon Jovi. Campbell had gone and Craig Goldy was in his place as they toured to support Dream Evil. Whilst it lacks the raw energy of four years previous this is still a top-notch performance. Claude Schnell had been added on keyboards and his presence is keenly felt on newer songs "Naked In The Rain" and "Rock And Roll Children" and perennial staples "Children of the Sea" and "Heaven and Hell" were always guaranteed to impress. As Geezer Butler notes "His music will live on forever" and these two discs are testimony to the legend that is Ronnie James Dio.

Simply essential listening.

Track Listing
Disc One: 1983
1. Stand Up and Shout
2. Straight Through The Heart
3. Children Of The Sea
4. Rainbow In The Dark
5. Holy Diver
6. Drum Solo
7. Stargazer
8. Guitar Solo
9. Heaven And Hell
10. Man On The Silver Mountain
11. Starstruck
12. Evil Eyes
Disc Two: 1987
1. Dream Evil
2. Neon Knights
3. Naked In The Rain
4. Rock And Roll Children
5. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll
6. The Last In Line
7. Children Of The Sea
8. Holy Diver
9. Heaven And Hell
10. Man On The Silver Mountain
11. All The Fools Sailed Away
12. The Last In Line
13. Rainbow In The Dark

Added: November 21st 2010
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2072
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by