Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Commander Cody And His Lost Planet Airmen: Rockpalast (DVD)

In the late 70's till the mid 80's Germany had their own version of Don Kirshner's Rock Concert with the TV show Rockpalast. On July 1st, 1980 they received a good dose of the blues with a little bit of country thrown in when Commander Cody invaded the studio. One of the wild men of boogie/rock and roll is the leader of this tribe and he brings his humorous musical approach and crazy stage antics to a very sedate German crowd.

Reinvigorating the blues with such works as "Thank You Lone Ranger", their ode to the American diet "Two Triple Cheese", "Beat Me Daddy 8 To The Bar", "Stealing At The 7-11", "Riot In Cell Block No. 9" and the smoky "Go To Hell" Cody touches on an era of the blues that was one of the forerunners to what we call rock and roll. The also add what a touch of what I would call boogie styling on such songs as "Who's Got The Rock" and of course "Rock That Boogie" along with "Ubangi Stomp".

They also have a county flavor at times and it shows through in their biggest hit "Hot Rod Lincoln" and many other places on the disc including their sad county ballad "Seeds And Stems". Cody plays a brand of music that is all but forgotten today. It is very American and goes directly to the roots of today's music with a humorous approach that is addictive. On stage they are an energy filled band and the music will bring back visions of Little Richard and Jerry Lee Lewis. This one is a good time DVD that will come off the shelf now and then to give you a blast from the past that will have you digging out the boogie shoes!

Track listing:

1. Thank You Lone Ranger
2. Two Triple Cheese
3. It Should Have Been Me
4. Beat Me Daddy 8 To The Bar
5. Seeds And Stems
6. Who's Got The Rock?
7. go To Hell
8. Sea Wolf I
9. Rocket 88
10. Midnight In Memphis
11. Stealing At Seven Eleven
12. Rock That Boogie
13. Ubangi Stomp
14. Hot Rod Lincoln
15. Riot In Cell block NO. 9
16. Roll The Dice
17. Sea Wolf II

Added: October 25th 2010
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2079
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by