Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lokke, Johnny: Promises and Lies

Johnny Lokke has dragged the 80's metal scene into the 10's with his stylistic approach. If I was to cut Johnny in half, there is no doubt in my mind, the words, Mr. Heavy Metal would be tattooed through him, a fact that he himself would recognise, and probably be proud of. He is definitely a stalwart of old school heavy metal, where he wears his influences proudly on his sleeve. Had this album been release back in those heady days, it may have ended up on one of those so called top ten albums lists that we read so much about today.

The construct of the album is based on powerful guitar passages, memorable, driving and catchy tunes. Vocally Lokke reminds me very much of Halford and Owens, powerful when required, hitting all those pain shrieking high notes as and when necessary. Interestingly enough Lokke also handles all the rhythms and bass work too. Glen Lyons contributes the exact drum work, whilst Carlos Arcay contributed all the rather outstanding guitar solos played throughout. This is an album that really does coagulate all the best bits of the era; where Lokke has updated his past love, presenting it back to today's breed of metalhead.

There's not one track here that hasn't had me reaching for my air guitar at some stage or another, but the real highlights are "Accident of One", Scarred for Life", "Black Sunday", a trio of songs that open the album, being songs with total arrogance and attitude. You get the feeling that Lokke knows he is onto something special here, allowing him to whip his audience into a frenzy.

"Starchasers" see's Lokke and co taking what sounds more like a basic approach, but that's only due to the quality of the rest of the work on offer here. The following track "Obsession" has a drum pattern that just grabs you by the scruff of the neck, dragging you along the floor, whilst the guitar breaks just kick your ass. "State of Pain" travels the same path, armed with attitude, whilst album closer "Fly for Me" has racing guitars, pounding bass and drum patterns and that all important memorable chorus, which will have you singing.

Albums as memorable as this are a rarity these days, which should make you sit up a think. There's nothing ground breaking presented here, it does exactly what it says on the tin, just twelve pure unadulterated metal songs. Now how cool is that in today's genre obsessed music world?

Track Listing
1 Accident of One
2 Scarred for Life
3 Black Sunday
4 Heal Me
5 Promises and Lies
6 Burning the Wheel
7 The Next Revolution
8 Starchasers
9 Obsession
10 Virus
11 State of Pain
12 Fly for Me

Added: October 19th 2010
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2492
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by