Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sleeping, The: The Big Deep

Joe Zizzo (drums), Sal Mignano (bass), Paul Cadena (guitar), Chris Evans (keyboards) and Douglas Robinsons (vocals) spent the summer months in Woodstock writing and recording these eleven ditties. The band has taken varying rock styles mixing in emo and some post hardcore, producing this angst ridden sounding album. Has this band brought anything new to the table? Well to some degree yes, but it's only subtle. We are presented with eleven powerful anthems, with this being their fourth album, and to be honest they should be on the verge of breaking into the big league, although they don't really sound like they are bothered either way.

Throughout the whole album there are some really excellent standout tracks, "The Phantom of Dark Clouds" and "Oh, Gloria" are really good examples of what The Sleeping can achieve, with their impassioned approach both musically and lyrically. With the right promotion, they could be the tracks that finally break them.

Cadena and co really mean business; they sound as if they are really are enjoying the moment, a tight and cohesive unit, laying bare their souls to the world, feeling rejuvenated and refreshed from the whole Woodstock experience. It is all made interesting, as what they play is at times hard to compartmentalize, when you think you have got them sussed they take sharp left turn, which in turns keeps you on your toes.

Whether they are playing uptempo pieces, jangly radio friendly songs or more laid back jazz breaks the band complete the task in hand with class and finesse, which will have you pressing the play button again.

Track Listing
1 Dark Days
2 Boroughs of the Ocean
3 Beautiful Gloom
4 Retiring Spies (Change Your Life)
5 Deafening the U.K
6 The Phantom of Dark Clouds
7 Oh, Gloria
8 Get You Back
9 The Big Deep
10 Black Waves (Vaya Con Dios)
11 Dark Clouds
7 Oh, Gloria
8 Get You Back
9 The Big Deep
10 Black Waves (Vaya Con Dios)
11 Young Vibes... Don't Run Away From Me

Added: October 8th 2010
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link: Band MySpace
Hits: 1420
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by