Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

WD-41 + 2: Temi Per Cinema

The bizarre sonic explorations begun on 2009's self-titled WD-41 album featuring journeyman guitarist Willie Oteri and trumpeter Dave Laczko continue on its sequel this time with the addition of beat jockey and lap steel dulcimer player Dino J.A. Deane and drummer Scott Amendola. Together, the quartet improvises over loops, a live horn and effects, creating a minimal, raw and, frankly, unfriendly aural landscape.

With the addition of two more players, Oteri (whose resume includes work with Tony Levin, Pat Mastelotto, Mike Keneally and Stu Hamm) augmented the project's name to WD-41 + 2. But, just as on the WD-41 release, the impersonal nature of this music is reflected in the 10 song titles, ranging from "AA-4" to "W-5." Granted, for Temi Per Cinema, Oteri and company add dashes of Middle-Eastern flair, with a nod to Native-American influences ("Q-2"). There's also creepy dissonance ("W-1B") and some ear-piercing noises ("W-5"). I can't deny the creativity involved here, but these pieces nevertheless require patience and endurance, a discerning ear and, above all, the right frame of mind.

Track Listing:
1) U-5
2) BB-2
3) Q-1
4) W-1A
5) W-5
6) W-1B
7) T-6
8) AA-5
9) Q-2
10) AA-4

Added: October 6th 2010
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: WD-41 on MySpace
Hits: 1877
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by