Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Immortal: Live at Wacken 2007-The Seventh Date of Blashyrkh (DVD/CD)

Is there any better trio in extreme metal today than Immortal? After watching this kick-ass DVD Live at Wacken 2007-The Seventh Date of Blashyrki, you'd be hard pressed to think of one that delivers the goods more convincingly than this legendary Norwegian black metal act. Recorded at their retirement ending headlining reunion appearance at the Wacken Open Air Festival in Germany in 2007, this set shows Immortal better than ever and as if they never left the scene in the first place.

As this is prior to their All Shall Fall album release, the band (Abbath, Horgh, and Appollyon) run through 11 older songs from their outstanding discography. Clad in spikes, chains, and their trademark black metal corpsepaint, the band tear through such classics as "Withstand the Fall of Time" (perhaps their best and most memorable tune), "One By One", "Sons of Northern Darkness", "The Sun No Longer Rises", "Battles in the North", and of course "At the Heart of Winter", among other gems from their catalog. Though it's just guitar, bass, and drums up there on stage, the sound is full and heavy, Abbath's raging guitar riffs providing a full, rich sound over the intricate blast beats from Horgh and Appollyon's rumbling bass. With plenty of pyrotechnics (smoke, fire), the show is given an important, and larger than life appeal, and seeing as the band went on after dark, makes for exciting viewing as the crowd rages in front of them. Even Abbath's fire breathing segment (no doubt influenced by Gene Simmons) is included here for your viewing pleasure.

The camera work, editing, and sound is impeccable throughout, making this a high quality DVD for your collection (shame no Blu-Ray edition is available), and the entire set is also included on a bonus CD, so you can take the show with you in the car or outside and blast out loud to your hearts content. No bonus features are included (surprised some interview snippets from the band on their reunion couldn't have been worked out), but the quality of the live show speaks plenty of volume on its own.

Track Listing
1. The Sun No Longer Rises
2. Withstand The Fall Of Time
3. Sons Of Northern Darkness
4. Tyrants
5. One By One
6. Wrath From Above
7. Unholy Forces Of Evil
8. Unsilent Storms In The North Abyss
9. At The Heart Of Winter
10. Battles In The North
11. Blashyrkh (Mighty Ravendark)

Added: September 19th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3565
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by