Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nathan Eklund Group: Coin Flip

Coin Flip, the fourth album from this New York City quintet led by trumpet and flugelhorn player Nathan Eklund, fuses traditional jazz with contemporary arrangements and dashes of wit reflected in the clever wordplay of song titles like "Professor Dissendadt" and "Happy Sadness." Yes, this all-instrumental release shimmers with character. While Eklund's horns dominate, he cedes the spotlight to his band members – wise move, considering these guys have just as many chops as the group's namesake. Most noteworthy is the intricate performance of drummer Shawn Baltazor on the lively "Triple Shot Espresso."

This is the kind of jazz you'd expect to hear when you go to a quality club – sophisticated, animated and extremely well-played. You can almost smell the smoke, the booze, the perfume…

Track Listing:
1) Rooicka's Castle
2) Professor Dissendadt
3) The Supernatural
4) Triple Shot Espresso
5) Happy's Sadness
6) Front Lawn
7) Coin Flip
8) One Year Ago Today
9) Chim's Paradise

Added: September 14th 2010
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Nathan Eklund Group website
Hits: 1438
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by