Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Thy Disease: Anshur Za

They say that the industrial revolution is over. Some may beg to differ with that statement as in Europe bands such as Rammstein and these guys are trying their best to keep it going. With a harsh mechanical sound tinged with some more melodic moments, Thy Disease is staking their claim in this chosen field. Originally a death metal band, their sound has been gradually transforming with each release and now with this newest offering they have taken a step away from where they have come and integrated the electronic sampling into their sound as a prevalent feature. This is not necessarily a bad thing, as Anshur Za is a vast improvement over the bands last offering.

If I would have to describe this album in one word it would have to be "Cold". Envision a barren wasteland and how it would be brought to life musically and you will get the picture of this band. Harsh and mechanical, Thy Disease emits a robotic feeling that is only enhanced by the futuristic electronic samplings throughout. This disc is a bleak look into a possible future and takes The Terminator approach as to what might happen.

From the massive metal blast of "Blame" which clearly sets the tone for this disc, you are taken through the devastation of war which is where Thy Disease thinks we are heading. The whole disc is pointed in this direction and while entertaining, they are rehashing a well worn path with both their view and their music. There is nothing wrong with that but just don't expect anything more than a good dose of the mechanical metal made popular by bands such as the later day Kovenant. Thy Disease do so with a polished offering that is not going to set your world on fire but will at least give you a spark or two for future reference.

This album also contains two cover songs. The Depeche Mode tune "Sinner In Me" and for the second time in their career the band tackles Madonna's "Frozen". Both of these are O.K. but really have no point on the disc.

This is an album that I have given ample time for it to grow on me but it never has. The music is good but not something you are going to stop what you are doing to listen to. I can find nothing wrong with it other than the fact that I cannot find anything really great about it either. It is just one of those discs that will find its place into your player from time to time but you will not be disappointed if it gets put on a shelf either.

Track Listing:

1. Blame
2. Fog Of War
3. Rotten Structure
4. Collateral Damage
5. Nightmare Scenario
6. Moral Supremacy
7. Freedom From Anshur-Za
8. Code Red
9. Generals Speech
10. Salah-Dhin
11. Sinner In Me
12. Frozen

Added: September 12th 2010
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 1680
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by