Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jones/McGill/DeCarlo: Percy Jones, Scott McGill, Ritchie DeCarlo

2010's 'Trio from Hell' ? That's a great way to describe this hot new fusion act featuring Brand X fretless bass master Percy Jones, guitar wonder Scott McGill, and drum virtuoso Ritchie DeCarlo. Their self titled debut is a fusion lovers wet dream, filled with memorable tunes that just ooze supreme chops from start to finish.

Opening cut "Menagerie Animoto" will have all Mahavishnu Orchestra fans checking their underwear to make sure they didn't soil themselves. After some wonderful bass lines from Jones, McGill comes shredding into the picture with some ripping guitar in true McLaughlin fashion, and the trio tear through near 5 minutes of savage fusion bliss. "Rumsfeld's Spleen" is a more atmospheric number, and features some guest guitar soundscapes from touch guitarist Markus Reuter. The band gets all funky on "F-Hole's Worth", and continue in that direction for the even more down and dirty "Polonium 210 Filter", where blazing runs splattered with effects from Jones and McGill fly about the mix in dizzying fashion. McGill goes for some Indian grooves on the acoustic "Two by Two", and the metallic "43 Letsby Ave." is a crushing display of dark jazz-rock, complete with dissonant shards of guitar thunder from McGill, intricate fills from DeCarlo, and Jones' elastic grooves. The addition of bubbling Moog from DeCarlo only adds to the depth of this ominous piece.

The CDs longest cut is the 9+ minute "The Ghost of 47 Letsby Ave.", the sequel to the previous track, but here the band take a more haunting and atmospheric approach. With Reuter again contributing some chilling soundscapes, McGill & Jones dabble in some restrained lead lines while DeCarlo keeps everything grounded with a tribal beat. "Rising (Parts 1 & 2)" allows the band to breath with some almost Holdsworth styled arrangements, but be sure to check the slippery grooves from Jones, who as always is just a joy to behold. DeCarlo's turn to rip it up comes on "Borgasmord", a wild acrobatic drum solo, and the trio deliver some massive, almost heavy metal sounds on the monstrous "Definition Defied". Album closer "Days Fogged In" ends things on a meditative note, as the band pull off a great impression of something you would hear on the ECM Records roster. McGill's yearning chords and Jones' soul searching melodic bass lines tug at your heart, while DeCarlo's gentle cymbal strains lull you into a trance, giving this CD a real haunting jazz flavor to finish things out.

It's interesting to read the booklet and see the praise awarded this trio from none other than Michael Manring, himself a legendary fretless bass wonder, and also former collaborator of McGill. If Manring was impressed, considering his accomplishments, you have a feeling that the sounds contained within this CD are going to be quite good. That's basically the case, as Jones, McGill, and DeCarlo have come up with a real fusion winner here on their self titled debut. Hopefully we will see more from them in the near future.

Track Listing

  1. Menagerie Animoto
  2. Rumsfeld's Spleen
  3. F-Hole's Worth
  4. Polonium 210 Filter
  5. TWO by TWO
  6. 43 Letsby Ave.
  7. The Ghost of 47 Letsby Ave.
  8. Rising (Parts 1 & 2)
  9. Borgasmord
  10. Definition Defied
  11. Days Fogged In

Added: September 6th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2494
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by