Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

16 Deadly Improvs, The: The Triumph of the 16 Deadly Improvs

Avant-garde/prog/fusion/metal act The 16 Deadly Improvs once again unleash their fury on their fifth release, titled The Triumph of the 16 Deadly Improvs. Again resulting in 16 tracks, The Triumph of the 16 Deadly Improvs sees the band taking their cue from the avant-garde jazz scene, as well as Red era King Crimson, and blasting forth with a wide array of styles and sounds that never gets repetitive or boring.

The line-up, comprised of musicians from New Brunswick, NJ, includes Gene Bohensky (drums/keyboards), Nick Bohensky (guitar/keyboards/percussion/vocals), Jeff Bridi (bass/keyboards/vocals), Dave Wilson (drums/keyboards), Mark Nowak (keyboards/vocals), and Vin Vilanueva (guitar). They have put together some dark and ominous pieces here, all filled with both tight arrangements as well as looser moments of improvisation, yet the grip of tension is always apparent. Though much of what you will hear is instrumental, there are a few vocal pieces that really work quite well, such as the post rock-meets-prog of "Into Another Time" and the poppy "Dear Me". However, the band really grabs the listener by the balls with their metallic, King Crimson influenced bombast, which you can hear to full effect on "Gargantua!", the various "Sand Palm " tracks, 'Death to Disco", and "Torpedo". The way the band creates the tension by using creepy keyboard sounds, percussion, and then rampaging guitar riffs and slicing, angular lead lines, really works on all fronts. Toss in a bunch of atmospheric prog tunes, as well as some tracks with an almost funk edge, and you have a very enjoyable collection of 'improvs' that ultimately come across as well thought out rather that straight ahead jams.

Bottom line: a unique and adventurous album from a band that deserves your immediate attention.

Track Listing
1. Sand Palm IV 1:18
2. Spirit or Matter 4:30
3. Torpedo 5:23
4. Bugbear Blues 3:33
5. Invincible Pole Fighters 3:58
6. Into Another Time 5:41
7. Rise of the Septopi 3:53
8. Gargantua! 6:06
9. Sand Palm V 2:47
10. Dear Me, 3:50
11. You'd Make A Lot of Money... 5:15
12. Death To Disco 6:10
13. Mag 3 3:11
14. The Burrowers Beneath 9:16
15. Fading of My Memories 3:41
16. Sand Palm VI 2:15

Added: September 5th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 3839
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by