Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Suicidal Tendencies: No Mercy Fool!/The Suicidal Family

No Mercy Fool!/The Suicidal Family is the latest release from the Suicidal Tendencies camp, featuring re-recorded tracks from from the bands seond album Join the Army (originally released in 1987), as well as songs from guitarist Mike Clark's old band No Mercy. In addition, there's also a brand new version of the ST classic "Possessed to Skate".

Hard to believe that the band is now going into their fourth decade of existence, but it's true, and their influence on the hardcore/ska/punk/metal scene can still be felt today. These tracks here surprisingly sound pretty fresh, considering that they were written over 20 years ago. Lead singer Mike Muir is, as always, front and center, his trademark barks, raps, and shouts are all over these tracks, but it's the crunchy riffs from Clark and the raging lead guitar from Dean Pleasants that really steals the show. Pleasants is like a man possessed on "Join The ST Army" and "The Prisoner", and his wah-wah licks burn like white hot coals on "Born To Be Cyco". "Something Inside Me" almost sounds like a lost Ramones track, and "No Mercy Fool!" and "We're F'n Evil" though pretty infantile lyrically, have a raging, punk edge that bring to mind the early speed metal scene. You can almost imagine a band like Metallica, in their early days, playing a tune like "Crazy But Proud", which has the early thrash sound written all over it.

Some fun stuff here, and though No Mercy Fool!/The Suicidal Family won't change the world, it's nice to hear ST taking some of these early and long forgotten tunes and giving them a 2010 spin.

Track Listing
1. Suicidal Maniac 3:09
2. Possessed To Skate 3:28
3. The Prisoner 3:10
4. I Feel Your Pain...And I Survive 3:41
5. Join The ST Army 4:22
6. No Name, No Words 2:32
7. Born To Be Cyco 2:23
8. Come Alive [Explicit] 3:43
9. Something Inside Me 2:59
10. No Mercy Fool! 3:27 Not
11. We're F'n Evil [Explicit] 3:36
12. Crazy But Proud 3:13
13. I'm Your Nightmare [Explicit] 3:20
14. Widespread Bloodshed...Love Runs Red 4:34

Added: September 5th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1856
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by