Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lofgren, Nils: Cry Tough-Rockpalast (DVD)

Both Eagle Vision and SPV seem to be unleashing the Rockpalast video vaults these days, and the latest one comes via the former for this deluxe 2DVD package from guitar great Nils Lofgren. Three shows from the German television concert series are presented here, the main one being from 1991, and two shorter sets from 1976 & 1979.

It's clearly obvious that Lofgren learned a lot from his time with Crazy Horse back in the 70's and his recent stint with Bruce Springsteen, as he's developed into quite a showman over the years. With his solid backing band, Nils lets his unique guitar skills and gritty vocals take center stage, playing most of his best songs in the 20 track set from 1991. Jumping around, interacting with the audience, and clearly enjoying himself, Lofgren mixes hard rock, pop, folk, and blues into classic cuts such as "Keith Don't Go", 'Rock 'n' Roll Crook", "Cry Tough", "Back It Up", and of course the catchy "I Came to Dance", among many others. Take one look at his beat up Fender Stratocaster, and you know this guy has been through the rock and roll touring wars. Watching him play though is an experience, as Lofgren utilizes a combination of finger picking and tapping, rarely picking the guitar in a conventional manner.

The older sets from the late 70's are pretty exciting to watch as well, and the band is younger and more raw, but you get to see them play some of the earlier album cuts, including "Beggars Day", a tune that Nazareth covered so well right around the same time. Overall, the quality of all three sets is about what you'd expect from footage of this time period-it's not HD quality but it's certainly very watchable, and the audio is quite good. Nils Lofgren has long been an underappreciated talent (let's face it, he doesn't get to do much in Springsteen's E Street Band), and here's a great chance to see his guitar & vocal talents in action along with his solid band for a few hours of fun.

Track Listing
Disc One 1991
1) Sticks And Stone
2) Keith Don t Go
3) Rock n Roll Crook
4) Cry Tough
5) Trouble s Back
6) Delivery Night
7) Bein Angry
8) Moon Tears
9) Girl In Motion
10) Valentine
11) The Sun Hasn t Set
12) Across The Tracks
13) Silver Lining
14) Walkin Nerve
15) Gun And Run
16) No Mercy
17) Back It Up
18) Shine Silently
19) See What Our Love Can Do
20) I Came To Dance

Disc Two 1976 / 1979
1) Cry Tough
2) It s Not A Crime
3) Keith Don t Go
4) Going Back
5) Share A Little
6) Jailbait
7) Like Rain
8) Rock n Roll Crook
9) Back It Up
1) Keith Don t Go
2) A Fool Like Me
3) Beggar s Day
4) No Mercy
5) It s Not A Crime
6) Like Rain
7) Heart Of Fire
8) Cry Tough
9) Going Back
10) You re So Easy
11) I Came To Dance
12) (Incidentally) It s Over
13) Back It Up
14) Moon Tears
15) Soft Fun

Added: August 30th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Vision
Hits: 1764
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by