Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Commander Cody: Rockpalast

Rockpalast has been a staple of the German music scene since its inception over thirty years ago and remains so to this day. First aired in 1974 the live music television show has become renowned for featuring bands from diverse genres within the rock field and allowing those artists to showcase their best material in a small club setting in front of an audience of around eighty people. Why it has taken so long for some of these shows to receive an official release I'm not sure, however this Commander Cody show recorded in July 1980 is one of six from different artists (the other five are John Cipollina/Nick Gravenites Band, Jorma Kaukonen, Spirit, Paul Butterfield Band and Dickey Betts & Great Southern) to see the light of day on CD and DVD.

As you would expect from a show with such a long history in live music, the sound from this performance is absolutely spot on and allows Commander Cody to blast through some of their best material with an enthusiasm and ease that illustrates what a force this band were on stage. Tracks such as "It Should Have Been Me" and "Go To Hell" boogie along with a real sense of purpose that is impossible to resist, while the rocked up country of "Midnight In Memphis", which wouldn't be out of place on a Jackson Browne album, or "Hot Rod Lincoln" which is finger pickin' good, are simply great fun. What comes across really well in this recording is the humour in the performance of Commander Cody, both in terms of their lyrics and the stage raps, which in the case of "Two Triple Cheese" and "Stealing At Seven Eleven" are laugh out loud moments. Don't think though that this is a band that don't take things seriously, as musically they are tight and impressive, with the mix of pumping guitars, throbbing bass, energetic piano and sparkling sax only relenting to allow the audience to show their appreciation.

Commander Cody were not a band I was well acquainted with before I heard this CD, however the best compliment I can pay this release is that on the strength of what is on offer here, I will be seeking out more of their music very soon. For enthusiasts of the band, I can't recommend it highly enough. I haven't seen the DVD version of this performance, however on the strength of the CD, I can only imagine it make for great viewing and considering the impressive list of bands that have performed on Rockpalast over the years, I suggest you keep your eyes open for some more gems to come.

Track Listing
1. Rockpalast Caption
2. Thank You Lone Ranger
3. Two Triple Cheese
4. It Should Have Been Me
5. Beat Me Daddy 8 To The Bar
6. Seeds And Stems
7. Who Got The Rock
8. Go To Hell
9. Sea Wolf
10. Rocket 88
11. Midnight In Memphis
12. Stealing At Seven Eleven
13. Rock That Boogie
14. Ubangi Stomp
15. Hot Rod Lincoln
16. Riot In Cell Block No.9
17. Roll The Dice
18. Sea Wolf (Reprise)

Added: August 25th 2010
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Commander Cody Official Web Site
Hits: 1744
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by