Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Lidocaine: Voices and Noises of Kiling Koling

The Lidocaine are a hard rock and metal three piece from Helsinki, Finland. The band formed in 2007 and Voices and Noises of Kiling Koling was released in October, 2009. In the band are Anthony Rausku (vocals, guitar), Eroz (vocals, bass) and Janne Hakuli (drums).

The album consists of eleven songs (including the bonus track), including five each written by Rausku and Eroz with both musicians providing the lead vocals for their own songs. They have different vocal styles, one having a more melodic and smoother delivery while the other is pretty rough around the edges with a pretty heavy accent. This is straight ahead heavy rock and metal and not so much progressive metal as stated in the press release. Setting labels aside this is a good album for what it is - just do not expect too many progressive elements.

The songs are dominated by heavy riffs and are quite intense from beginning to end. The band sets a blistering pace through most of the album but they do slow things down occasionally with some guitar based atmospheric sections. Some of my personal favourites include "My Living Is Done" with its wicked bass groove and swirling guitar rhythms, the catchy heavy rock of "All That You Ever Were" featuring a fuzzy guitar tone and nicely layered vocals and the dynamic "Call It Heavenly" which may be the album's most melodic song incorporating heavier and softer sections and a sing-a-long chorus that is quite infectious.

Voices and Noises of Kiling Koling is a good rock/metal album that may appeal to anyone who appreciates heavier music. Some of the vocals are a little rough but I did get more used to them over time and there are plenty of good melodies and riffs to satisfy the hard rocker in us all. Pull this one out at your next party and play it loud. Trust me, it is how this album is meant to be heard.

Track Listing:
1. My Living Is Done
2. All That You Ever Were
3. Never break
4. Dig Down Your Cave
5. Back To Sleep
6. Sunshine
7. Left Overs
8. Enjoy the Ride
9. Words That Smell
10. Call It Heavenly
11. Personally Sick Skin

Added: August 9th 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2363
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by