Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Destruction: The Antichrist

Metal Mind is at it again. They bring back another group that is all but forgotten and only now with the benefit of hindsight we can see what we missed the first time around. Today they are considered one of the big three Teutonic thrash metal bands along with Kreator and Sodom. This limited edition gold disc is the best example of pure thrash goodness that Destruction ever produced. From start to end it one proves that the German trio had the talent to really take it to the highest level of the art form.

In reality, this disc is the Japanese import version of the disc. The bonus song listed as number 12 on the jacket is actually track 66 on the disc. Tracks 12-65 are each 10 seconds of silence. A unique ploy but one that is irritating to say the least, I would have hoped that they would have done away with long wait for the rework of the song "Curse The Gods".

When it comes to the band Destruction there is little doubt about what you are going to get. This trio knows no other speed than full out and their music is a wicked bit of thrash with the harsh vocal style of Marcel Schmier setting the tone for the musical beat down that they deliver. There is nothing fancy about their approach. Play it loud, play it hard and make it good. They might be guilty of becoming a little one dimensional but they are never uninteresting.

All of the songs on this disc are nothing more than the fastest, loudest, meanest thrash that they can muster. "Nailed To The Cross" has to be my favorite of the bunch, after that the songs do seem to be variations on one theme but they picked one helluva great premise to base their music on. This is some serious head banging material and a lot of fun. Reserve this one for the times when you want to just forget about the world around you and blow away the problems with some good old heavy metal thunder. Don't think that you will be overwhelmed by their technical prowess or thought provoking lyrics. This is music to unleash some anger and hopefully there is no one near you to be on the receiving end.

Track listing:

1. Days Of Confusion
2. Thrash Till Death
3. Nailed To The Cross
4. Dictators Of Cruelty
5. Bullets From Hell
6. Strangulated Pride
7. Meet Your Destiny
8. Creations Of The Underworld
9. Godfathers Of Slander
10. Let Your Mind Rot
11. The Heretic

Bonus Track

12. Curse The Gods

Added: August 8th 2010
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 3058
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by