Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cynic: Re-Traced

Re-traced, re-booted, re-look, it what you will, but this new EP from technical extreme metal masters Cynic takes a much different look at 4 tracks from their comeback album Traced in Air, plus throws in a brand new piece, "Wheels Within Wheels". Forget the bombast, the crushing technicality, or the explosive arrangements, these are four of Traced in Air's highlights re-recorded and given a totally new outlook. "Space" is like a head on collision between King Crimson and early Porcupine Tree, all lush and atmospheric with fluttering guitar synth washes and dreamy vocals, while "Evolutionary" has an almost folky, Pink Floyd feel in spots, though does have a few segments where the arrangements turn upbeat in a sort of Porcupine Tree way. For "King", the setting is heavily dripping with melancholy (OK, is this a Hogarth-era Marillion album?), complete with lush guitar chords and emotional vocals, and the tender tone continues on "Integral", where the focus is again on the vocals and the gentle guitar strums. Quite lovely, though you'd be hard pressed to realize that it's Cynic had you heard it on the radio one day. New track "Wheels Within Wheels" is more of an electric number, and kind of what we'd expect from these guys, though the 'metal' has certainly been toned down in favor of a textured prog sound. Think jangly 90's era King Crimson meets Rush and you have an idea of what the band are trying to do here, and it's no surprise that the guitar work is spectacular.

No growls to be found anywhere on Re-Traced, instead of anything extreme we get lushness and loads of melody, as these songs are basically re-done in such a way that they are almost unrecognizable. For die-hard Cynic fans, this will either be a love/hate thing, but for those that are not into technical metal and like things on the more proggy & melodic end, this dreamy & trippy little 're-boot' of some of Traced in Air's gems might be a nice surprise.

Track Listing
1. Space 5:14
2. Evolutionary 4:25
3. King 4:55
4. Integral 3:50
5. Wheels Within Wheels 4:44

Added: July 29th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace page
Hits: 1899
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by