Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Braindrill: Quantum Catastrophe

Braindrill made quite an impression on the technical death metal scene with their 2008 debut Apocalyptic Feasting, and they are back with another collection of extreme metal mania called Quantum Catastrophe. Guitarist Dylan Ruskin and vocalist Steve Rathjen remain from the debut, and they've brought along a new rhythm section this time, drummer Ron Casey & bassist Ivan Munguia. Don't expect too much of a change of style here, as Braindrill continue right where they left off, delivering non-stop brutality with loads of tricky & complex musicianship.

From the outset, the listener gets subjected to a wide assortment of fusion/metal styled bass & guitar noodling on tracks like "Obliteration Untold" & "Awaiting Imminent Destruction", where the flashy lead lines interject with absolutely crushing death metal riffing and relentless drum blasts. Rathjen delivers the deep growls and evil screams, which work well within the confines of the arrangements, but ultimately it's the frenzied performance of the band that is the main attraction here. Massive riffs and dizzying leads lines from Ruskin provide plenty of fireworks on "Entity of Extinction", while the complex "Mercy to None" will leave your jaw scraping against the floor. The blasting & hi-speed riffing continues on the epic title track, with Rathjen spewing out ungodly grunts, proving that the band really know how to deliver brutal death metal at a relentless pace.

As with their debut, this latest release shows that Braindrill have the chops, and plenty of them, but they still haven't quite learned how to mix their attack up a bit. Unless you are into complex and brutally heavy death metal, chances are you might get bored with the lack of variety here, but for all you tech-heads out there, Quantum Catastrophe will no doubt be a gore-soaked feast.

Track Listing
1. Obliteration Untold 3:47
2. Beyond Bludgeoned 4:16
3. Awaiting Imminent Destruction 2:51
4. Nemesis of Neglect 4:28
5. Entity of Extinction 3:46
6. Mercy to None 3:14
7. Monumental Failure 3:26
8. Quantum Catastrophe 16:03

Added: July 20th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace
Hits: 1359
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by