Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

WolfSpring: WolfSpring

WolfSpring is the brainchild of Nemo guitarist/vocalist Jean-Pierre Louveton. Hailing from France, the rest of the band consist of Julian Clemens (lead vocals), Guillaume Fontaine (keyboards) and Ludovic Moro-Sibilot (drums). Besides guitar, Louveton adds bass, vocals, songwriting and arrangements. WolfSpring play a brand of classic prog influenced by bands like 70s Genesis and Pink Floyd but also infuse modern progressive elements making their self titled debut an excellent album. Louveton is clearly the star of the show as his biting guitar leads and catchy riffs are found throughout the album's eight songs. Another highlight are the English vocals of Clemens. He has a pure and melodic voice that is sure to please fickle fans. You know those people who complain there are no good singers in progressive rock. Well, look no further than WolfSpring.

The album starts in grand fashion with "The Haunting". Acoustic guitar and faint drums slowly build in dramatic style. Clemen's vocals mesh nicely with the acoustic guitar before the heavier riffs unfold. The band is very good at blending softer parts with more intense progressive metal riffage. More classic style prog can be found in the excellent "24/7". Melodic keyboard lines, guitar riffs, superb vocals and sinuous bass come together nicely with the vocals at times reminding me of Muse. "Carpathian Wolves" is an instrumental where the band shows its progressive metal chops with fine guitar riffs and a driving beat. The moving "Train's Gone" begins with peaceful guitar and poignant lead vocals before more intense riffs are revealed recalling Meddle era Pink Floyd. The subtle orchestration is tastefully executed and adds just the right amount of colour to the music. Dramatic rhythms and sweet acoustic guitar intermingle before winding bass lines and bluesy guitar riffs highlight the melodic "Now Or Never". The layered vocal arrangement towards the end is superb. The electronic sounding "Mutation" has an Ultravox feel, particularly the modified vocals and "Our New Mediaevil World" will surely please Floyd fans as the Gilmour inspired lead guitar work is one of the album's highlights making this my favourite song.

Progressive rock fans have plenty to celebrate as WolfSpring have produced an excellent debut album. Check out ProgRock Records for more information.

Track Listing:
1. The Haunting (6:28)
2. 24/7 (5:47)
3. Carpathian Wolves (4:57)
4. Train's Gone (7:19)
5. Now Or Never (6:42)
6. Mutation (5:54)
7. Howling With The Banshee (6:59)
8. Our New Mediaevil World (12:25)

Added: July 12th 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2092
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by