Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lynch: Window Of Your Soul

Window Of Your Soul is the debut release from Chicago based band Lynch, which with seven songs is a little long to describe as an EP, but also too short to really be called an album. Musically the band play straight up melodic metal that is brimming with attitude and belief, but is a little short on depth. Now that lack of depth may to a large extent be put down to the tinny production that gives the effect of Window Of Your Soul sounding more like an impressive demo than a completely finished recording. That aside there is much to weigh up on the pluses and negatives side with this release.

The leader of the pack is frontman David Lynch and in truth also where some of the problems lie. Lynch's enthusiasm and attitude can't be questioned; however his vocal delivery is at times uneven and distracting. I found his penchant for yelping at the start and end of almost every line of opening track "1724" particularly off putting and unnecessary. Even when his singing is less theatrical as it is on "Be There", the vocals still sound a little strained and forced. The real plus for the band though, is guitarist Mike Burke who rips out some great riffs and solos with ease and poise. His six string work throughout the songs is top class and with a better production he really could have blown everyone's socks off. His performance on "Slow Down" is tremendous, really raising the song and inspiring his band mates round about him. In the right circumstances Burke could be a star. That said the songs are a little simplistic in style and arrangement and while bassist Deb Altman and drummer Frank Pace create the thunder needed to drive them on, there is little on offer from either that surprises or excites.

Lynch are involved in MusicForTroops an organisation supporting troops and vets through free downloads - as well as supporting Autism charities, which goes to prove that just like the band's logo, their hearts are in the right place. I would suspect that they deliver the goods live and in fact the songs may connect better in that setting. It's an A+ for effort, but a case of must do better next time round.

Track Listing
1. 1724
2. Wash Me
3. Ceisha
4. Heartless Beat
5. Be There
6. Slow Down
7. Sister Mary

Added: June 10th 2010
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Official Lynch Web Site
Hits: 2086
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by