Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bitter Frost: Bitter Frost

Here is a project that grabbed my attention when I first noticed the write up, referring to a dark metal opera. Bitter Frost is the name of this release, which is the creation of one Christopher A Erikson. On Bitter Frost Christopher has crafted a very alluring CD based around melodic black metal, with an imposing array of music and vocals, making for a very enjoyable album.

Bitter Frost has vocals from more than a few different artists, in fact there is seven all up including names such as Sean Peck(CAGE), Dan Morris (GANNONDORF), Dorian Bell (EVIGHET AV ASKE), Stacy Rugely (OPLEXICON) and Joe Onweller (CON), contributing a combination of both clean and darker vocals. The CD has a fitting balance between the vocals and music, unlike some releases where the multiple vocalists more than dominate proceedings. Besides programming and production Christopher also contributes vocals and takes care of the bass, guitars and keyboards, showing on Bitter Frost that he is a most competent performer.

As the aalbum begins we are introduced to Christopher's admirable neo classical guitar shredding on the fast instrumental "Delusions Of Grandeur". I take it that the drums are programmed, but the time has been spent getting the suitable metal patterns that you would expect applied, blazing double kicks and all. My picks include "Nemesis", an accessible and tasteful instrumental, and "Oplexicon IV -Arrogance" which isn't at all what you would expect on a metal album as it changes from intense blistering paced metal to a more electronic style.

Christopher has put a substantial amount of time into Bitter Frost, and to his credit the CD is a success.

Track list:
1. Delusions of Grandeur
2. Astral
3. Pagan Wheel
4. Novus Ordo Seclorum
5. Till Norr
6. Apotheosis
7. Signs That Point To Nowhere
8. Nemesis
9. Vulnere Virtus
10. Oplexicon I - Sons of Kogaion
11. Oplexicon II - Speed of Hate
12. Oplexicon III - Waterboard The Peasants
13. Oplexicon IV -Arrogance

Added: May 28th 2010
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2300
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by