Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Soulfly: Omen

Lookout Soulfly fans, Max and co. are back with album number seven titled Omen. Besides the standard version, Omen is also available as a song packed special edition with an intense live performance on DVD captured in Germany last year, plus a few bonus tracks, making that edition a great overall value for your money.

In 2008 we were treated to a great new Soulfly CD Conquer and introduced to Max's new band with his brother Igor called Cavalera Conspiracy and their wicked CD Inflicted, now in late 2010 it's looking like we will also hear new music from Cavalera Conspiracy. I do prefer the Max era of Sepultura hence Conquer and Inflicted were very welcome as is this new CD.

There are no signs of toning their aggression down, as Soulfly release their rage on this newest recording. Max's vocals are as potent as ever and guitarist Marc Rizzo's playing is as phenomenal as ever, all four members united Soulfly has one choice line-up. The band wastes no time as they explode on the very good "Bloodbath & Beyond", the solo is one of the many crackers on Omen, before the groove of "Rise Of The Fallen" kicks in, with Greg Puciato(The Dillinger Escape Plan) lending his voice to this addictive song, which will most probably be one of the favorites for many. "Lethal Injection" has Tommy Victor (Prong) adding his voice and "Kingdom" is guaranteed to get heads banging.

As every other Soulfly release has an instrumental they continue the tradition on Omen with "Soulfly VII", sure to give your ears some reprieve from the metal barrage, as Soulfly display a much lighter side to the band with another cool tune. The three bonus tracks include a cover of Led Zeppelin's "Four Sticks", and the final two songs are from Sepultura and Excel with Max's sons on drums.

Soulfly's Omen is another top metal CD sure to ignite many animated moshpits. Now, all I want to know now is when exactly will that next Cavalera Conspiracy CD be released?

Track list:
1. Bloodbath & Beyond
2. Rise Of The Fallen
3. Great Depression
4. Lethal Injection
5. Kingdom
6. Jeffrey Dahmer
7. Off With Their Heads
8. Vulture Culture
9. Mega-Doom
10. Counter Sabotage
11. Soulfly VII
12. Four Sticks
13. Refuse/Resist
14. Your Life, My Life

1. Blood Fire War Hate
2. Sanctuary
3. Prophecy
4. Back To The Primitive
5. Seek 'N' Strike
6. Living Sacrifice
7. Enemy Ghost
8. Refuse/Resist
9. Doom
10. L.O.T.M.
11. Molotov
12. Drums
13. Warmageddon
14. Policia
15. Unleash
16. Roots Bloody Roots
17. Eye For An Eye

Added: May 23rd 2010
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3269
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by