Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Black Water Rising: Black Water Rising

Despite a name dripping with Southern-rock innuendo and a debut album cover that looks like it could have been designed for Black Oak Arkansas or The Outlaws, Brooklyn's Black Water Rising overflows with broad influences. There are the obvious ones: Black Label Society, The Brought Low and even the band that shares one-third of Black Water Rising's name, Black Stone Cherry. And then there are the unexpected ones, including Audioslave, Cavo, a funked-up Jeff Scott Soto and -- in a few places, Foreigner (the pregnant riff that opens "Blessed") and Live (the anxious tension early on during "No Halos").

With all that diversity, you might think Black Water Rising's self-titled debut would be all over the place musically, but the seasoned quartet vocalist Rob Traynor used to front Dust to Dust, and the band also includes former members of Boiler Room and Stereomud holds it all together with sharp riffs and a thick and fuzzy bottom end. If anything, there's not enough variety in these 11 muscular, sludgy songs.

Still, this is how modern commercially viable alt-rock/metal sounds these days, and don't surprised if you eventually hear Black Water Rising flooding the airwaves. "Brother Go On," "Sale On Your Soul" and "The Mirror" were built for that kind of success.

Track Listing:
1) The Mirror
2) Brother Go On
3) Hate Machine
4) Black Bleeds Through
5) Blessed
6) No Halos
7) Living Proof
8) Rise
9) The River
10) Sale On Your Soul
11) Burn It Down

Added: September 9th 2010
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Black Water Rising Web Site
Hits: 2046
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Black Water Rising: Black Water Rising
Posted by Ryan Sparks, SoT Staff Writer on 2010-09-09 09:14:37
My Score:

Appearances can be deceiving. While the cover of Blackwater Rising's self titled debut album certainly appears to have all the makings of them being the latest Southern rock band on the block, the reality is that these four rock 'n roll outlaws hail from Brooklyn New York.

Save for the swampy sounding vocal intro and a smattering of bluesy slide licks on "No Halos" this eleven song album is a straight up, good old fashioned ass kicking centered around leather lunged vocalist Rob Traynor, the ballsy bottom end of bassist Oddie McLaughlin, drummer Mike Meselsohn and the muscular drop tuned arsenal of riffs supplied by main axe-slinger Johnny Fattoruso. Tailor made radio anthems "The Mirror" & "Brother Go On" sit perfectly alongside the monstrous, sludge infested Black Label Society riffage that permeates "Rise" and "Burn It Down".

Ok, so it isn't entirely original, but when you have as many high octane, super charged riffs and meaty hooks to burn as these guys do, originality tends to not be an issue. I like the no holds barred, in your face attitude and what these guys bring to the table. What you hear is what you get, and that is a rock solid effort from top to bottom with nary an ounce of filler. These guys have all the ingredients in place so it wouldn't surprise me if these Blackwater Rising took it global in the very near future.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by