Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sevendust: Cold Day Memory

Sevendust have always had the unfortunate 'Nu- Metal' tag placed firmly on their backs and as a consequence many people have missed out on some top notch Rock/Metal albums from this Atlanta Five piece over the years. With drummer/vocalist Morgan Rose overseeing proceedings from behind the kit,a charismatic guy who could have been separated at birth from Tommy lee he is still the driving force behind Sevendust. Cold Day Memory soon kicks off some furious riffing with the first track 'Splinter', which sees that distinctive clean/scream Sevendust vocal style handled by both Rose and Lajon Witherspoon. 'Unravelling' transcends into a multi layered melodic masterpiece seeing the guitars, vocals and drums combine and daring you to press the 'repeat' button. A more immediate album than 2008's Hope & Sorrow this is a pure guitar assault of the senses with Clint Lowery let loose to solo, riff, breakdown and batter his instrument into submission. Anyone familiar with his side project Dark New Day will know that as well as being quite a heavy affair there is also a great deal of melody involved in his music which adds layers and texture to the experience. With production duties in the safe hands of Jonny K, (Disturbed, Staind, Finger Eleven) it has given Sevendust a new lease of life and revived them from the pool of despair they were standing treacherously close too. What becomes clear early on is the bombastic delivery and ripping solo's tearing through tracks like 'Nowhere', 'Confessions' and 'The End Is Coming' which is becoming a lost art of the last few years but has steadily edged back to our ears.

Without a doubt this is the best album Sevendust have produced in years it simply slaps you with the subtlety of a wreaking ball while the vocals soar majestically through your concrete heart. Currently ripping up the States on the Carnival Of Madness Tour with Shinedown it won't be long until we see their ferocious live show in venues all over Europe once again.

Though the album is available in the US as a CD/DVD set, fans in the UK only have Cold Day Memory available as an import, but an official release is imminent.

Track List:-
1. Splinter
2. Forever
3. Unraveling
4. Last Breath
5. Karma
6. Ride Insane
7. Confessions
8. Nowhere
9. Here And Now
10. The End Is Coming
11. Better Place
12. Strong Arm Broken

Added: May 18th 2010
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2848
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by