Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Motorhead: Live At Brixton '87

Recorded in 1987, Live At Brixton is "yes another live Motorhead album", and while it is one that can be a lot of fun to listen to; in the end it does not really stand up to its legendary predecessor No Sleep Til' Hammersmith in my humble opinion. By 1987 there was a slight lineup shift and it was one that found drummer Pete Gill being replaced by original Motorhead skin basher Phil Taylor. It was nice to have another member of the bands "classic lineup" back in place and as expected he worked well with the guitar prowess of Phil Campbell and Wurzel. There is a very close similarity in terms of set list composition to the No Sleep At All live recording and that might put some people off who are seeking something a little bit more unique. However, on the same token if you are one of those tried and true Motorhead album collector's this one might be perfect for your needs. In terms of band discography; the live show presented on this album was supporting their Rock And Roll album and as result there would be five numbers from this release performed.

The production of the live show seems rather sound and those couch potato fans might appreciate the ability to be able to easily control the volume on that which would what would be impossible to do had they witnessed this show in person. For me a number of "crucial" tracks are missing from the set, but that is going to happen with a band that has so much excellent legacy material. As I said this is a great example of the band at the time and it should be viewed in that fashion to gain maximum appreciation. A booklet is included that offers up a number of excellent photos and images of concert flyers and clippings. A narrative by a writer from Metal Hammer magazine accompanies these images. Perhaps this is more for the purists and if you are not among those kinds of fans then I suggest trying to listen to some samples before you lay your money down on it.

Track Listing:
1. Doctor Rock
2. Stay Clean
3. Traitor
4. Metropolis
5. Dogs
6. Ace Of Spades
7. Stone Deaf In The USA
8. Eat The Rich
9. Built For Speed
10. Rock 'N Roll
11. Deaf Forever
12. Just 'Cos You Got The Power

Added: May 13th 2010
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2154
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by