Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bonedome: Thinktankubator

Bonedome is the brainchild of Texas musician Allan Hayslip and have recently released their first album Thinktankubator. Besides adding his considerable vocal talents, Hayslip plays guitars and bass and has help from a few other musicians including Gerald Iragorri on drums and percussion and Ed McMahon on guitars.

Having never heard of this band before I was pleasantly surprised after listening to Thinktankubator. The music sits directly under the alternative umbrella with occasional references to classic and progressive rock. This is a guitar based album but you will not find any solo extravaganzas here. Instead listen for edgy guitar textures with off kilter melodies and spacious rhythms. Oh sure there is the odd solo here and there but that is not what this band is about. Complimenting the guitar sound are the vocals of Hayslip. He has a deep rich baritone which is more than a little bit similar to David Bowie which is not a bad thing in my book. Other points of reference would be 80s-90s Iggy Pop, XTC, Nirvana and The Beatles, especially regarding the layered vocal harmonies which are a staple of this disc.

Some of my favourites include "I Can Loose You", featuring an edgy guitar rhythms and vocals that harkens back to XTC and the richly textured "Easy" with its sparse guitar arrangement and Hayslip's excellent vocals paying homage to Bowie's musical stylings. Other notables include the late 70s retro rock of "Steven" reminiscent of The Cars' debut and the album ending "Custody Lullabye" with its pretty guitar melody and excellent layered vocals that took me back to The Beatles circa 1969. Perhaps the proggiest song is "Red Flags R Trouble" demonstrating quirky guitar rhythms and more great vocals.

I should point out there are some weaker moments here like the somewhat pedestrian rock of "Better" but overall this is a strong alternative rock album with plenty of hooks and one that fans of the genre should check out.

Track Listing:
1. Sandman
2. Fade Away
3. Girl One
4. Slow Jesus Xing
5. Eraser
6. I Can Lose You
7. Easy
8. Red Flags R Trouble
9. The Other One
10. Steven
11. Better
12. Custody Lullabye

Added: May 6th 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2553
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by