Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Goatsnake: Flower Of Disease

Rejoice because album number two Flower Of Disease from the purveyors of Sabbath styled doom Goatsnake is back in circulation. Released jointly by the now defunct Man's Ruin label on CD and on vinyl by Southern Lord back in 2000 this lethal slab of doom / stoner rock has just been crying out to be reissued. Thankfully after ten long years Southern Lord has stepped up and made this one available in both formats to the masses once again.

On Flower Of Disease the band which consisted of vocalist Pete Stahl, drummer Greg Rogers (The Obsessed), bassist Stuart Dalquist and Sunn O))) guitarist Greg Anderson took their dirge styled sludge to the next level. While the album is bookended by a pair of extremely, heavy sounding and plodding songs with the title track and the eight minute closing number "The River", they're also partial towards laying down some pretty deep and infectious grooves as well. "Prayer For The Dying", the super charged lysergic strain of "A Truckload Of Mamma's Muffins" and the swamp style harmonica boogie of "Live To Die" are crammed to the hilt with massive riffs, hooky choruses and Stahl's powerful and melodic vocals. Smack dab in the middle the listener's ears are hijacked by the catchy "Easy Greasy" which opens with a bit of mouth harp and features a catchy chorus that is punctuated with some searing and densely layered lap steel guitar courtesy of guest guitarist Dave Catching. Likewise "El Coyote" is another slamming up tempo track peppered with more of Anderson's distorted riffs.

Flower Of Disease is absolutely essential listening for anyone who has ever kneeled at the throne of Black Sabbath and worshiped the uncompromising and everlasting power of the almighty riff. With Flower Of Disease returned to circulation and the band back together doing some select dates in 2010 after a six year break, one can only hope that a new Goatsnake offering is looming on the horizon.

Track Listing
1) Flower Of Disease
2) Prayer For A Dying
3) Easy Greasy
4) El Coyote
5) The Dealer
6) A Truckload Of Mama's Muffins
7) Live To Die
8) The River

Added: May 5th 2010
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Southern Lord
Hits: 3572
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by