Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sinister: Hate & Bastard Saints

I have had this re-release for longer than usual before reviewing it. The reason being, there are some discs that you just cannot listen to from start to end in one sitting. This combination of two EPs from the band with additional live tracks added is one of those albums. While the death metal fanatics might just eat it up, these guys play in such a narrow spectrum that this 18 song excursion becomes an exercise in excess with each song blending into one another with a droning vocal delivery that sad to say, becomes very boring before too long.

I would have to say that I did enjoy the song "Bastard Saints". For a brief flash the band shows us a side that is a major improvement over the well worn path that they follow for the remainder of the disc. Here, shades of thrashy guitar shines through and a more melodic approach bring this one up to a standard that the other songs just cannot match.

The four live songs that are added to the disc certainly show them at the highest energy level. Blazing guitar work that certainly shows what they are capable of highlights this part of the CD with "Altruistic Suicide" being the best of the lot.

While this disc is far from terrible, it is nothing special for sure. If you are looking for a mega dose of droning death metal that does not vary much, this is the album for you. I happen to like a bit more than what they deliver on here.

Track listing:

1. Intro
2. Awaiting the Absu
3. Embodiment of Chaos
4. Art of the Damned
5. Unseen Darkness
6. 18th Century Hellfire
7. To Mega Therion
8. The Cursed Mayhem
9. The Bloodfeast
10. Reborn from Hatred
11. Bastard Saints
12. Rebels Dome
13. Cross the Styx
14. Epoch of Denial
15. Men Down (live)
16. Afterburner (live)
17. Altruistic Suicide (live)
18. The grey Massacre (live)

Added: May 3rd 2010
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2124
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by