Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dreaming Tree, The: Progress Has No Patience

Buried away at their base deep in the heart of the English Midlands, The Dreaming Tree are a quirky and eclectic contemporary prog outfit with Progress Has No Patience marking their second full length release. Their material boasts all of the necessary shifts in tempo, key and time signatures led by some expressive vocals from Chris Buckler and the overall sound also displays some lighter pop and jazzier elements that marks them out as being just that little bit different. But then with a press release citing influences ranging from Led Zeppelin to Spock's Beard, to Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen, diversity was always going to be much in evidence.

"Silence Won't Steal" is an uplifting opener with a soaring mid-section solo from Dan Jones as Buckler's vocal twists and turns against a backdrop of solid riffing and delicate keyboard touches. Laid back, lounge room, piano ushers in "Grown too Small" that offers a heartfelt lyric with the music shaping up to be a direct pop-rocker before the mid-section breakdown takes it back into an offbeat jazz vibe. Mid-album finds two eight minute plus epics in "Moult", a tale of loss and betrayal, and "Ophidia" that are highlighted by extended instrumental passages and fluid soloing. Floating on a wave of keyboards, "Slender Versions of the Truth" is a more sinister number that ventures off into a carnival atmosphere with Buckler taking the role of creepy master of ceremonies. Lyrical and musical mood changes appear with regularity and the reflective, world-weary closer "The Only Truth" ensures a moving finale.

An innovative and original release with broad appeal, The Dreaming Tree could well be one of the best kept secrets on the modern prog scene. With the right promotion and the all important little bit of luck, "Progress has no Patience" should win them many more admirers.

Track Listing
1. Silence Won't Steal
2. Arcadia
3. Grown Too Small
4. Love and the Heart
5. Moult
6. Ophidia
7. Slender Versions of the Truth
8. You the One
9. Tide and the Mast
10. Whisper Song
11. The Only Truth

Added: May 30th 2010
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2640
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Dreaming Tree, The: Progress Has No Patience
Posted by Jon Neudorf, SoT Staff Writer on 2010-05-30 23:33:28
My Score:

In 2003/04 Chris Buckler (vocals) and Neil Ablard (drums, percussion) met up with Dan Jones (guitar, vocals) when attending a sound engineering clinic and thus the band was formed. Soon Steve Barratt (keyboards) and Jim Peterson (bass) joined the fray and their debut self titled EP was released in 2004. Their first full length release entitled Grafting Lines And Spreading Rumours came in 2006 followed by Unplugged One: How To Sound Good Naked in 2008. That brings us to 2009 and their brand new album Progress Has No Patience.

The press release cites such diverse influences as Spock's Beard, Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan and Led Zeppelin. The band plays a unique style of progressive flavoured pop/rock that is highly melodic and a joy to listen to and while I do hear later period Spock's Beard and a few other bands, this is a band that is clearly developing a style all their own. Many of these compositions have a jazzy feel that also recall the smooth sound of early 80s Steely Dan. The guitar playing of Dan Jones is tasty and melodic and his crystal clear sound sometimes reminds me of David Gilmour. After listening to Progress Has No Patience I can honestly say this band is running on all cylinders, from the melodic vocals of Chris Buckler to the wonderful keyboard work of Barratt, The Dreaming Tree has all the necessary ingredients to make some serious waves in the industry. Suffice to say the band has made a bold musical statement with their latest album.

A heavy Rush vibe permeates the impressive "Ophidia" with crisp guitar rhythms, an off kilter time signature and atmospheric keys. A lovely keyboard melody begins the moody "Slender Versions Of The Truth" which soon segues into a pulsating bass line and dramatic guitar work. The short spoken word segment reminded me of Pink Floyd's "The Trial". While I hear influences of Steely Dan, Alan Parsons, The Beatles and the aforementioned Floyd, this song is quite original as is the entire album. That said, the clean sound of Steely Dan does crop up now and again particularly in the jazzified pop/rock of "Love And The Heart" and "Moult" with both songs being highly melodic affairs.

Although I like some songs more than others there are really no filler tracks as this is a strong release start to finish. Progress Has No Patience came as a nice surprise and if you enjoy extremely melodic progressive tinged pop and rock you should definitely give The Dreaming Tree a listen. You will be glad you did.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by