Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Crack Up: From The Ground (remaster)

Obscure German band, Crack Up, have had their 2nd album, their 1997 release, From The Ground re-released by Metal Mind Productions with new Digipak CD packaging. With 15 tracks in total and clocking in at just over 45 minutes, From The Ground is what Crack Up calls "Death 'n' Roll", which is supposed to be a combination of Death Metal brutality meets melodic rock n' roll. But the melodic Rock n Roll never really seems to surface, so let's just call this generic Death Metal, shall we?!

With songs ranging from 1:28 seconds to 3:57 seconds, there are some songs that have an almost Doom Metal tinge to them while keeping maintaining some sort of heavy chunk to them. Nothing very technical here from Crack Up, but they do keep it heavy. The production here is quite suspect, but I suppose it gets the job done. The vocals are buried and there in a very trebly, high end "swishing" between the drums, the razor edged guitar wanking and the aforementioned vocal growls. Not very pleasing to the ears!

Crack Up don't offer anything in the Death Metal realm that we haven't already heard before with From The Ground. The record does seem to flow together as a whole, for what it is, but there is no great playing, no great songs or anything that would make anyone overly interested in this record. This is for that over the top Death Metal head that has to own everything. Overall I found this to be pretty bland and weak.

1. From The Ground
2. Razzberry
3. Cracked Pack
4. Money With Roll Right In
5. Broomer
6. Rats
7. Swab
8. Glorious
9. Blood On The Floor
10. For Fake
11. Sappy Restrain
12. Dysorientated
13. Burrrn!
14. Worthless
15. To The Sky

Added: April 26th 2010
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 1714
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by