Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moonlight Sky: Moonlight Sky

Formed back in 2000 in the Republic of Slovenia Moonlight Sky is band that likes to blend different styles of music together. They released their self titled debut album back 2006 and 2009 year saw the appearance of their second album entitled I Am.

On Moonlight Sky the quartet of vocalist / keyboardist Andraz Kržič, guitarist Miha Petric, bassist Janez Moder and drummer Bor Zakonjsek deliver nine original compositions that pretty much stick to a straight ahead rock and up tempo blues format and yet there's also a pronounced jazz / fusion vibe flowing through the arrangements of some of these songs at times as well which adds another nice dimension to their overall sound.

Whether it was intentional or not guitarist Miha Petric almost steals the show here and he is definitely afforded plenty of opportunities to demonstrate his impressive arsenal of riffs on tracks like "Devet Osem", where he lets loose with a lengthy solo that is laden with passion and fire. Likewise on the Pink Floyd inspired instrumental "Ocean" he eventually cuts through Kržič's atmospheric opening keyboard / synth passages to offer up another fiery solo that perfectly offsets the otherwise languid, dreamlike qualities of the song. The band as a whole shines brightly throughout the course of this recording, especially on tracks like "Rigg's Family Shot", the aforementioned "Ocean" and the scorching closing song "The Groove" in which both Kržič and Petric turn in some of their best work.

If there's one thing holding this album back somewhat it would be that both the vocals and lyrics don't come across as anything other than just average. The fact that they chose to pretty much make this an even mix of vocal and instrumental tracks gave me the impression that maybe they were a bit undecided as how to best present their musical ideas. All things considered, I'd have to admit that this is still a pretty solid effort from beginning to end and a good starting point for the group.

Track Listing
1) Lunin Svit
2) Angel
3) Rigg's Family Shot
4) Pluton
5) Devet Osem
6) Ocean
7) Štirje Svetovi
8) How Much?
9) The Groove

Added: April 25th 2010
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Official MySpace
Hits: 2358
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by