Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Toto: Mindfields

Released: Mar 1999 / Produced by: Toto

Much-heralded (abroad, anyway) return of Bobby Kimball falls short of expectations. While he's in fine form (as are all musicians, as usual), Mindfileds suffers from "CD Syndrome": too many tracks and overlong tunes (some work, e.g. neo-prog "Better Days," others, like "High Price Of Hate" simply drone).

Spotted with gems ("Melanie" could be Steve Lukather's finest ballad, "Mad About You" is effective singable pop, "Cruel" is first rate Toto pop R&B, and title track riff is almost impossible not to hum along with); virtually ballad-free, but filler abounds. David Paich lead vocal meter: bonus track only, and it's a dog. Focus would return on next album, the strong Falling In Between. For Toto aficionados only.

Track Listing
1. After You've Gone 6:39
2. Mysterious Ways 3:40
3. Mindfields 6:02
4. High Price Of Hate 9:49
5. Selfish 5:30
6. No Love 4:35
7. Caught In The Balance 6:21
8. Last Love 4:58
9. Mad About You 4:24
10. One Road 3:45
11. Melanie 5:19
12. Cruel 5:57 $
13. Better World 7:41
14. Spanish Steps 4:26

Added: April 18th 2010
Reviewer: Steve Fleck
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2879
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by