Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pressure Points: Remorse's To Remember

Formed in 2004 Pressure Points is a new progressive / death metal band out of Finland. After a couple of demo releases their debut disc entitled Remorse's To Remember released on Firebox is an impressive seven song offering that should clearly bring these young Fins to the next level.

One notices a distinct Opeth like vibe on the scorching opening track "Atonement", which is a ten minute epic full of multiple tempo changes, searing guitar work and the alternating clean / growling vocals from lead guitarist / vocalist Kari Olli, while keyboardist Veli-Matti Kyllönen throws in some splendid Hammond organ swells for good measure. "Temptation For Hate" and "Edge of Endurance" are multi-faceted compositions that feature an abundance of punishing riffs as well as a heaping amount of complex drum work from percussionist and chief lyricist Vili Auvinen.

The real pay off though on Remorse's To Remember can be found in the album's final three tracks. "The Past Within", "Out Of Sync" and the closing number "Grand Delusion", because this is where these young musicians really demonstrate their unlimited abilities as composers and arrangers. It begins with the hazy, psychedelic opening feel of "The Past Within" which eventually unfolds into a full blown treasure trove of warm sounding organ playing and soaring melodic lead guitar work. "Out Of Sync" and "Grand Delusion" are a couple of back to back nine minute epics that will pin the listener to their seat with a full on melodic barrage of densely layered and perfectly executed arrangements.

Regardless of how you want to classify their music, and I think one could make the point that these songs dont always follow your typical death metal modus operandi, Pressure Points have ultimately crafted a very auspicious and rewarding debut album from start to finish.

Track Listing
1) Atonement
2) Temptation For Hate
3) Edge of Endurance
4) Calm
5) The Past Within
6) Out Of Sync
7) Grand Delusion

Added: April 11th 2010
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Firebox
Hits: 3424
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by