Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Immolation: Majesty And Decay

Forget last year's big budget over hyped disaster movie about the impending end of the world... a release that packs some real devastation is from the seriously talented death metal masters Immolation, that release is their new album called Majesty And Decay.

Immolation's gigantic sound packs a mammoth punch, drummer Steve Shalaty is all over his kit with merciless consequences coupled with a brutal presentation from guitarists Robert Vigna and Bill Taylor, and topping it all off is the might of bass player and vocalist Ross Doland, creating Immolation's lethal death metal arrangements. Some of the releases in this vein tend to drag themselves down due to that constant unrelenting feel of the music, not so with Majesty And Decay it just makes you crave for more.

Prepare to feel like you just received a virtual blow to the head as the might of Immolation's fury is set free on "The Purge", as Ross Doland's wrathful vocals scream out above the extreme complexity of the band's musicianship. Title song "Majesty And Decay" just radiates immense power; the drums and guitar are superb, as this fantastic track just cries out for more volume. Immolation step up the tempo on "Divine Code", they then dive into "In Human Form" another complex presentation of this band's immense ability. "A Glorious Epoch" contains more explosive music from the metal titans, and Immolation really mixes it up on the tune "The Rapture Of Ghosts". This band is certainly not predictable; so much effort has gone into their compositions they can be truly proud of their accomplishments on this album.

Majesty And Decay is simply an essential purchase for dark metal followers from one of the best bands on the scene, Immolation. Majesty And Decay's excellent collection of death metal even elevates it above Nile's Those Whom The Gods Detest, it's that good.

Track list:
1. Intro
2. The Purge
3. A Token Of Malice
4. Majesty And Decay
5. Divine Code
6. In Human Form
7. A Glorious Epoch
8. Interlude
9. A Thunderous Consequence
10. The Rapture of Ghosts
11. Power And Shame
12. The Comfort of Cowards

Added: March 27th 2010
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 3191
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Immolation: Majesty And Decay
Posted by ??? on 2010-03-27 22:35:12
My Score:

Worst production of 2010 so far and that is by a mile!!! It is unlistenable and this record is not even close to the last offering by Nile in any shape or fashion.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by