Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Marshall Tucker Band, The: Way Out West! Live From San Francisco 1973

You might be asking yourself right about now, what are The Marshall Tucker Band doing on a site dedicated to all things metal, prog, and fusion? Well, for those who have never listened to the music of this legendary Southern Rock band, especially their earlier material, you are really missing out on a lethal combination of rock, blues, jazz, and sizzling jam-band experimentation. In fact, many of today's popular 'jam' bands owe a lot to MTB, as these guys were known to launch into many extended guitar and flute explorations in live settings over the years. Way Out West! Live From San Francisco 1973 is a scorching new archival release recorded at Winterland Ballroom in September of 1973, and shows the band at their jamming best. As it is, this is one of the earliest live recordings of the band to be released officially, and will be a must hear for loyal fan and the casual listener alike.

The classic line-up of the band is featured here, which included guitarist Toy Caldwell, bassist Tommy Caldwell, singer Doug Gray, reed player Jerry Eubanks, rhythm guitarist George McCorkle, and drummer Paul Riddle. From the opening 'chickin' pickin' ' of the opening cut "Hillbilly Band", the band is on fire and ready to jam. The more bluesy/R&B flavored "Another Cruel Love" folllows, complete with a strong vocal from Doug Gray, before the band launches into one of their most rocking numbers, the classic "Take the Highway". This one features some great riffs from Caldwell & McCorkle, with Toy really laying down a great solo. Eubanks' gorgeous flute leads in the radio staple "Can't You See", with its great chorus and tasty guitar solos from Caldwell, followed by the country flavored "See You Later, I'm Gone", a real workout for Caldwell's yearning pedal steel guitar and Gray's emotional vocals. From there the band crashes into the speedy "Ramblin' ", featuring some wild guitar leads from Toy once again, as well as Eubanks adding in some bluesy sax. Fans of The Allman Brothers Band will love the 14-minute "Everyday (I Have the Blues)", an extended jam of epic proportions, with Toy & George trading searing guitar licks and Doug belting out some truly soulful vocals. If you are a fan of searing guitar solos, this is the song for you, with Caldwell especially varying up his attack with bits of jazz, rock, and blues. The upbeat Southern Rock gem "24 Hours At a Time" closes our this stellar set in grand fashion, a catchy number with powerful vocals, nimble drum work, and beefy guitar licks.

Overall, this is a great sounding set considering how old this recording is. The band were in raw & emotional form, jamming with a fire and finesse that few bands could match back in 1973. This release comes with a nice little booklet with live photos and an essay from Barry Alfonso on the show. This is how this little band from South Carolina was meant to be heard, live and in your face. Check it out.

Track Listing
1. Hillbilly Band
2. Another Cruel Love
3. Take The Highway
4. Can't You See
5. See You Later, I'm Gone
6. Ramblin'
7. Everyday (I Have The Blues)
8. 24 Hours At A Time

Added: March 17th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1705
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by