Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

7 Months : In Time

The progressive metal market is one which has in recent years become more and more cluttered with bands aping the likes of Dream Theater and with the passing of time it has become harder and harder for new prog metal acts to really stand out from the crowd. So what, if anything, do 7 Months have up their collective sleeves to make them rise above the also rans? Well a vocalist in the shape of Danny Veras who possesses the power and precision of Geoff Tate is a good starting point and the ability to write complex and intricate music that contains bags of melody, certainly doesn't hurt either. Add to that supreme musicianship that you would expect from a band attempting this style of music and some wonderful vocal arrangements and well things are looking rosier by the second.

What is most striking about In Time, is that 7 Months have managed to take the spirit of vintage melodic prog bands such as Styx or Kansas and blend that with the more technical attack employed by the likes of Dream Theater or early Queensryche. The album contains a nice balance between restrained, melody focused passages and full throttle widdlefests and whilst the band's claim that much of their music has great radio "playability" may be slightly optimistic, there is enough on offer here to someone who's main musical focus is accessible rock, while those needing a fix of challenging time changes or paradiddles will also be forced to raise a smile from time to time. What does make In Time more interesting, or confusing, depending on your stand point, is that these aspects are blended together within the same songs and as expected, in fact almost demanded these days, the odd growl is thrown, although they do feel more like the band are bowing to fashion rather that furthering the songs with them. As mentioned though, the propensity to razor gargle is kept to a strict minimum and if that trait would be a major off putting factor for you Veras' mostly favoured clean vocal should more than make up for it, as he really is first class.

The interplay between Chris M Jacobsen on guitars and "Greg" on keyboards is what really drives the music of 7 Months on and while there are a few moments where things get a little familiar and formulaic, taken as a whole In Time is a reasonably impressive piece of work, best illustrated by the eclectic stop start of "Forever Again" and Kansas like quirk of "Now Or Never".

Not quite the finished article yet, 7 Months have created an album that suggests their future work could be very interesting indeed and if well constructed prog metal is your bag, then In Time is well worthy of a moment of your time.

Track Listing
1. Memories
2. Paralyzed
3. I Just Wanna Die
4. Confessional Profusion
5. Forever Again
6. Unspoken Words
7. Fatal Line
8. Can't You See
9. Now Or Never
10. In Time

Added: March 15th 2010
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 3128
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by