Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Acid Rain: The Descending Line

Acid Rain are a progressive metal band from Argentina and The Descending Line is the band's first full length release. They released the EP One Night Of Reflections in 2006. Playing on this album are Sebastián Fernández (lead and backing vocals), Mariano Revilla (electric, acoustic and Spanish guitars), Andrés Blanco (piano, keyboards, backing vocals), Ezequiel Giménez (6 string and fretless bass, backing vocals) and Martin Magliano (drums and percussion). Since this album has been released, Mariano Revilla left the band and has been replaced by Fernando Culen.

This band has plenty of chops, recalling such bands as Dream Theater and Circus Maximus, although Acid Rain are not quite up to the musical standards of those bands. The band displays tight musicianship throughout The Descending Line with guitar riffs aplenty and tasty keyboard work, making for some dramatic music. Unfortunately, this is not an instrumental album, although there are four tracks without vocals, and they are quite good. The problem lies in the vocals of Fernández. The man can carry a tune, but at times his voice seems a tad underpowered as compared to the music. He also tends to struggle with the high notes and sometimes tries to do too much, like in the dark-tinged progressive metal of "Never-ending Nightmare", where his voice tends to crack in the upper register.

That said, it is not all bad as there is a lot of good music here, especially the instrumentals. "Doors of the Mind", in particular, stands out as top notch progressive metal with plenty of bombastic flair and catchy riffs. "Memory Waves" is another highlight where Dream Theater-like guitar riffs and Latin flavoured acoustic guitar combine for an exciting listen. The album's last song is the title track, a dramatic and powerful ballad where Fernandez probably gives his best vocal performance on the album.

Acid Rain have a lot of potential and plenty of chops to succeed in the world of progressive metal. Now, if they could just work out the rough spots with the vocals they might really be on to something.

Track Listing:
1. Doors of the Mind (Instrumental)
2. Chasing Dreams
3. Rough Spirit
4. Beyond Reality (Instrumental)
5. Time To Plant Destruction
6. Never-ending Nightmare
7. Hold My Tears (Instrumental)
8. The Light Inside You
9. Memory Waves (Instrumental)
10. The Descending Line

Added: March 14th 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2595
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Acid Rain: The Descending Line
Posted by Sebastián Fernández on 2010-03-18 12:52:33
My Score:

Hi Jon! i wanted to thank you for the critic. But if you read the lyrics, this is a conceptual story and i'm just trying to interpret the drama of this story, that's why sometimes my voice seems to break, that's the effect we want to for this man who came back from war.

Please read the lyrics and you will note this intention.

Equally I am pleased that you liked the album ...


Sebastián Fernández

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by