Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cypher Seer: Awakening Day

US power metal band Cypher Seer released this solid debut Awakening Day back in 2007 to little acclaim, and that's a real shame as this is one hell of a metal album that needs to be investigated by those into the genre. Imagine a cross between early Fates Warning, Iced Earth, and Symphony X, and you have an idea of the direction this band is coming from. Plenty of big, fat, guitar riffs, sweeping keyboards, tight rhythms, and powerful vocals make up these 10 memorable and majestic songs.

The band have gone through some line-up changes since Awakening Day, and most importantly singer Michael Grant, who puts in a fine performance here, is no longer with the band. Those who prefer a vocalist with a rich, deep, and husky mid-range style over a screaming high pitched wail will love his delivery here. Sure, he can hit the high notes when needed, but it's not where he resides for the most part. Tunes like the epic sounding title track and the symphonic "Pieces of My Beginning" show how much depth he has, and he displays plenty of emotion on the prog-metal opus "Malachai's Reign". There's plenty of huge guitar riffs and ethereal keys on the crunchy "Act of Desperation", and "Walk Through Hell" sees the twin guitar team of Sergio Ribeiro & Rob Mariani really laying down a solid wall of riff-o-rama amidst a pounding rhythm and floating synths, much like vintage Iced Earth. The closing 3-part epic "Haunted Saga" is a real prog-metal fan's delight, as the raging & at times complex guitar work is adorned with keyboards and frantic drum fills as Grant puts his heart and soul into the vocals.

Cypher Seer are supposedly hard at work on their next release, which they hope to release here in 2010. I had the opportunity to see the band open up for Epica recently, and their current line-up is very strong, so it will be interesting to see how the studio material with the revamped band in tow.

In short, definitely a band to keep your eye on.

Track Listing
1. V.666
2. Awakening Day
3. Pieces Of My Beginning
4. Malachai's Reign
5. Act Of Desperation
6. Walk Through Hell
7. On Chained Down
8. Haunted Saga - Nocturnal Apparation
9. Haunted Saga - Haunted Visions
10. Haunted Saga - Final Encounter

Added: March 9th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3674
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by