Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Elegy: Lost

Lost marks the end of an era for Dutch melodic metal band Elegy, as it is the last album featuring Eduard Hovinga on vocals. After this album, Hovinga would be replaced by the great Ian Parry, who would turn the band into a tighter act with progressive and symphonic elements. Hovinga, on the other hand, would continue his musical endeavours in another worthwhile group, Prime Time.

Unlike the first two albums, Lost maintains a more focused approach to songwriting, as it hardly strays from their determined speed metal aesthetic with touches of symphonic keyboards, face-ripping guitar attacks, and stratospheric vocals. Hovinga continues to sing in his typical John Arch-inspired screams, except for the album's ballad of course. Though he doesn't quite get to the excellence of Arch, he fills the choruses of tunes like the title track, "Everything", and "Crossed the Line" with gripping melodies. His harmonies have more staying power this time around, and he also plays some guitar on "Under Gods Naked Eye", the ballad of the album.

Guitarist and main songwriter Henk van der Laars' playing shows immense growth -- on this album he converges his influences more smoothly. Traces of Marty Friedman, Jason Becker, and John Petrucci are less readily audible, as he has developed his own voice. On the short instrumental track, "1998", he plays over a nice keyboard melody with great tone. His partner, Gilbert Pot, provides a welcome counterpoint to his smooth, melodic signature sound as he lays down the necessary riffs and rhythms to the music. The syncopated guitar fury alongside the heavy-duty bass lines on "Spirits" contributes to the diversity of the album. Actually all of the songs are replete with his speedy guitar licks and intense riffing, but there is always space left for the keys and van der Laars to instill a melodic subtlety.

The keyboards are very gentle in the mix, but they subtly enhance the songs without detracting from the metallic quality. They creep through the songs achieving deeper atmospheres and dramatic passages. On the following Parry-era albums, they would be worked into their songcraft more effectively, however. The remastered version contains two bonus tracks: demos of "I'm No Fool" and "Labyrinth of Dreams", both recorded in 1990.

Lost is arguably the best album from the Hovinga period with the best production and most focused songwriting. That said, the band would surpass it on their future releases.

Track Listing

  1. Lost
  2. Everything
  3. Clean Up Your Acts
  4. Always with You
  5. Under Gods Naked Eye
  6. 1998
  7. Spirits
  8. Crossed the Line
  9. Live it Again
  10. Spanish Inquisition
  11. I'm No Fool (Demo)
  12. Labyrinth of Freams (Demo)

Added: March 8th 2010
Reviewer: Murat Batmaz
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 3108
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by