Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Thompson, Chris: Timeline

Chris Thompson is mostly known as the legendary voice of Manfred Mann's Earth Band, who had a string of classic albums in the 70s. Timeline is a nice overview of Thompson's career, containing some of his own compositions as well as a few classics from the Mann era. The album is divided into five parts: The Brand New, The Unexpected, The Fan Stuff, The Concert and Bonus Tracks.

Thompson has one of the most recognizable voices in rock and in my opinion one of the best. The first five songs are taken from Thompson's soon to be released album Rediscovery…A Musical Journey. This is mostly radio friendly, slow to mid tempo rock, and while it does not blow me away, it is well done and tastefully executed and quite catchy. The gripping ballads, "God's Own Country" and "Forever" are particularly poignant.

Manfred Mann has always been known for his skill at covering other musician's tunes, most notably Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen. Thompson exhibits similar skill in the reworking of the Fleetwood Mac classic "Don't Stop and The Zombie's "She's Not There" with the former staying true to the original and the latter maintaining funk laden grooves with tasty keyboards and organ.

The live selections taken from a concert in Tromso, Norway in 2004, feature three classics from the Mann era; Springsteen's "Blinded by the Light", Dylan's "Mighty Quinn" and "Davy's on the Road Again". Its nice hearing these versions recently done and Thompson's voice sounds great in a live setting. The keyboard and guitar work throughout these three songs is excellent. I especially never tire of hearing the familiar organ melody in "Davy's on the Road Again".

Other highlights include the catchy and heartfelt "For You", originally recorded for the Chance album, and a fine rendition of "Questions", one of the best ballads Manfred Mann ever recorded.

Listening to Timeline brought back fond memories. If you are familiar with Manfred Mann's Earth Band you may want to take this nostalgic trip through memory lane, and Thompson's voice still sounds great.

Track Listing:
1. Land of the Long White Cloud (2:59)
2. Radio Waves (3:28)
3. Dust in the Light (5:39)
4. Gods Own Country (3:20)
5. Forever (4:27)
6. Don't Stop (3:35)
7. She's Not There (3:46)
8. Broad Daylight (2:54)
9. If You Remember Me (3:00)
10. For You (3:12)
11. You're the Voice (4:08)
12. Blinded by the Light (9:37)
13. Davy's on the Road Again (6:21)
14. Mighty Quinn (7:36)
15. Questions (4:31)
16. Zu Leben (2:34)
17. You're the Voice (classical version) (4:45)

Added: March 3rd 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1854
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by