Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moore, Gary: Definitive Montreux (DVD)

Though legendary Irish guitarist Gary Moore turned his back on hard rock & heavy metal in the late 80's for a career playing blues and blues-rock, the fire and technique that was always a part of the 'Moore sound' still remained. All of you fans at home can be an eyewitness to this as you watch hours of blistering live performances from the guitar legend at various Montreux Jazz Festival sets from 1990 to 2001, available now on this 3 disc set from the folks at Eagle Rock Entertainment. Two DVD's jam- packed with Gary and his band at the famed Montreux festival over the years, and a bonus CD with a 'best of' selection of hot tracks culled from these performances.

Though there's five shows featured here, the good thing is there's not a ton of repeated songs to be seen throughout (Eagle Rock cherry picked selections from each show for the best viewing potential). Perhaps the most blistering of all are the 1990 & 1995 sets, the first was filmed just after Moore released the Still Got the Blues album, and he still has plenty of that hard rock style pulsating through his fingers as seen on hot numbers like ""Stop Messin' Round", 'Cold, Cold Feeling", "The Blues is Alright", and the classic "The Messiah Will Come Again". Blues great Albert Collins joins the band for a few tunes and gets into some great duels with Moore, but it's the Irishman's cutting tone and monster chops on "All Your Love", "Since I Met You Baby", "You Don't Love Me", and "Still Got the Blues" that steals the show and sends chills up the spine of any who is watching or listening. The 1997 set features some tracks from Moore's releases later that decade which combined blues with rock and R&B, but does contain a great rendition of "Out in the Fields", and the 1999 & 2001 performances have some great highlights in "Stormy Monday", "Too Tired", "Oh Pretty Woman", "Walking By Myself", "Fire", and the unforgettable "Parisienne Walkways".

The audio & video is top notch here, making for an exciting and memorable DVD that you can watch over and over again. Gary's guitar prowess, whether you like his bluesier direction or not, is off the charts impressive throughout these sets, though it becomes humorous after a while trying to keep up with his hair styles from show to show here. Kudos to Eagle Rock for putting together an attractive package as always, as this new entry in the Montreux series also has a wonderful booklet with photos and an essay from Dave Ling from the Classic Rock Magazine.

Classy stuff from one of rock's all time great guitar players.

Track Listing
1) Midnight Blues
2) Texas Strut
3) Moving On
4) Cold Cold Feeling
5) Stop Messing Around
6) The Blues Is Alright
7) The Messiah Will Come Again
1) If You Be My Baby
2) Long Grey Mare
3) Merry-Go-Round
4) The Stumble
5) You Don't Love Me
6) Key To Love
7) All Your Love
8) Still Got The Blues
9) Since I Met Your Baby
10) The Sky Is Crying
11) Jumping At Shadows
1) One Fine Day
2) Cold Wind Blows
3) I've Found My Love In You
4) Always There For You
5) Business As Usual
6) Out In The Fields
1) Pretty Woman
2) Need Your Love So Bad
3) Tore Down
4) I Loved Another Woman
5) Too Tired
6) Further On Up The Road
7) Parisienne Walkways
1) You Upset Me Baby
2) Cold Black Night
3) Stormy Monday
4) Walking By Myself
5) How Many Lies
6) Fire
7) Enough Of The Blues
8) The Prophet

Added: March 3rd 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1649
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by