Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kings of Modesty: Hell or Highwater

From Finland comes Kings of Modesty, a new band on the progressive metal/melodic metal/power metal scene who have surprisingly been around since the mid-1990's, but Hell or Highwater is actually their debut. Considering that this is their first album, Hell or Highwater contains some pretty mature material, heavy on the melodic side, with lots of catchy hooks, and just enough crunch and adventurous passages to keep things interesting.

Though not as symphonic as say Kamelot or Nightwish, nor as technical as Dream Theater or Symphony X, Kings of Modesty do a nice job of combining many styles of metal into one but never relying on one particular sound for too long. "Never Touched the Rainbow" and "Hourglass" are two memorable numbers that kick the CD off, and show all that this band is about. Beefy riffs, beds of keyboards, strong vocals, catchy choruses, and some tasty solos, all make up the formula. "Deep Down" is another winner, with a chorus that sticks in your head long after the song is over, and "Staring Eyes" sounds sort of like what fellow Finns HIM would sound like if they decided to play progressive metal. The first track that really rips it up here is the raging title cut, complete with intricate guitar lines and bubbling keys, and the soaring "Once Upon a Time" is certain to be a song where live crowds pull out their lighters and show their emotions to the band. A few of the tunes on the back end of the CD mix aggressive metal with bombast and pop hooks, such as "Tailspin" , "Miracle", and "We Will March Our Way", almost like a heavier Europe, and the album ends with the heart wrenching ballad "Two Hearts Collide".

While Hell or Highwater isn't going to see Kings of Modesty unseat some of the leaders of the power/prog/melodic metal world at the top of the heap just yet, this is certainly a very strong release that shows plenty of promise for the band.

Track Listing
01.- Never Touched the Rainbow.
02.- Hourglass.
03.- Deep Down.
04.- Staring Eyes.
05.- Hell or Highwater.
06.- Suicidal Mission.
07.- Once Upon a Time.
08.- Tailspin.
09.- Miracle.
10.- We Will March Our Way.
11.- Two Hearts Collide.

Added: March 3rd 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2318
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by