Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mudvayne: Mudvayne

The fifth Mudvayne release is actually self-titled and musically finds the band taking a step back in the direction that their fans expect them to follow while also being one that calls to mind their earlier years in terms of some of the ideas that they are presenting. If this is confusing you then should realize how their previous release of The New Game had a more Rock and Roll vibe to it and was something that might have left the longest standing Mudvayne fans scratching their heads in wonder about where their favorite band was going. Now back to brass tacks on Mudvayne, I am happy to report that the album is an infectious one, and a very consistent listen that finds each and every track fulfilling your specific Mudvayne needs. The technical displays of Math Metal prowess are there but the album does not adventure so deep into that territory that it risks losing your interest and instead delivers a number of catchy hooks and solid riffs that when paired together in this fashion give you some great tracks. Chad seems to be singing better than ever and had me sold on the album by the time they reached "Scream With Me" which came as my first favorite on the release. "Closer" is also good and "1000 Mile Journey" as well the latter track being probably the heaviest of the albums offerings.

Perhaps the time that Grey and Tribbett took away from the band to pursue adventure with Hellyeah gave them a renewed sense of Mudvayne purpose but whatever the case may be, I did feel that the band was stronger than ever in terms of how it was giving us the goods. Songs like "I Can't Wait" has a lot of powerful aggression to it and it's safe to say that this is my favorite Mudvayne release since my own introduction to them on "Lost And Found". Yeah I know I was late to the game in terms of the band but that happens sometimes with so many talented artists to follow in the music world, I'm just glad to be on board now and it's pretty safe to say that when they tour this material that it will work wonders for their shows. Its great stuff that one can tell will sound good live from the first listen. The whole release is tied up with the subtle and acoustic "Dead Inside". It took all that energy that boiled up in you across the album and let you unwind calmly just as the recording was presenting its final notes. An interesting way for a band like this to close it all out, but also one that I did not mind for the different manner that it gave us. I have to admit that I enjoy when a group chooses to change things up.

We actually got our hands on one of the limited edition copies of this release and this comes in a visibly plain white box and includes a little black light flashlight along with the CD. The box while "blank" to the naked eye in terms of artwork and track listing is not blank at all and that is where the little flashlight comes into play. The packaging features art conceived by singer Chad and brought to life by noted tattoo artist Paul Booth. It's cool to see how it works and if you were wondering about it, the booklet in the CD is also presented in the same fashion and requires the black light to be able to read the song lyrics and see any of the art that is in there. If you are a stickler for being able to see this kind of stuff without doing an additional process you might want to bypass the special edition version and just get the regular one. I had to admit I was wishing I had the old black light lamp or bulb that I used for posters of this kind in my college days. The little flashlight is shaped almost like a bullet and it comes on a keychain so I am sure that this will cause some controversy on those that wish to travel via airplane with their special edition Mudvayne CD and its light so they can read the lyrics. Some advice for those folks load it onto your Ipod just to be on the safe side.

Track Listing:
1. Beautiful and Strange
2. 1000 Mile Journey
3. Scream With Me
4. Closer
5. Heard It All Before
6. I Can't Wait
7. Beyond The Pale
8. All Talk
9. Out To Pasture
10. Burn The Bridge
11. Dead Inside

Added: February 11th 2010
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2350
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by